ZAP Contest!!! Enter now…

November 1, 2008 at 3:25 pm 37 comments

As promised, One lucky winner will win a whole sampling on fantastic ZAP products on Monday! If you’ve never tried or heard of ZAP, here’s the rundown…

ZAP peanut butter is peanut butter made even more healthy and delicious with 10 added fruits and vegetables!! In one serving of the butter you get tons of added vitamins, minerals, fiber and antioxidants!! Sounds like quite the super food huh? Check out their website here: ZAP!

Ok, so now for the contest rules… all you have to do is leave a comment answering the following question: “What motivates you to stay healthy?” You can write a sentence or just one word… no strict guidelines here. Just make sure you post before Monday, November 3rd at 6pm EST. I can only pick one winner, which is difficult when you’re me and bad at making decisions, so the boy will be helpin me out! 😉 Can’t wait to read everyone’s answers!!

Lunchy Munchies

Wait… let me back up a second… before lunch I had a few errands to run and on the way back I stopped at a fruit vendor because I was all out of frozen grapies and knew I’d want some later today. 🙂 I also noticed pomegranates for $1 each which I just couldn’t pass up. The bf still isn’t feelin so great so I figured all those antioxidants would be perfect for him. I used the new method of getting the seeds out of the pomegranate that I recently learned on Rhodey Girl’s blog.  It is ingenious!! No mess and no juice all over me!

Basically you just keep everything underwater and let the yummy fruit sink to the bottom and the pith float up to the surface.

I had my half of the pom seeds with some plain nonfat yogurt. Yum!!


Lunch was pretty simple, but very satisfying. I made my last California Burger (need to get more!) along with some rice cakes, steamed cauliflower and broccoli which was absolutely amazing. Perfect warm lunch for a cool fall day. My dad’s coming into the city this afternoon to watch the Notre Dame football game at my apartment w/ the bro. Excited to see him!! Hopefully we beat Pittsburgh or it could be a downer of an evening… my family is VERY into Notre Dame.

Entry filed under: Lunch, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: .

Oats ‘n PJ’s Wasabi Lobby!

37 Comments Add your own

  • 1. seeleelive  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    i am interested in ZAP. Who referred it to you? It must be a superfood, it definitley sounds like it, but do you have trouble getting in your fruits and veggies from real, whole foods instead of having it all mashed up into a jar of PB? or do u just like this taste better?

    Always,

    Curious Leelee

  • 2. seeleelive  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:04 pm

    annd what motivatess me? this thing always comes first:

    RECOVERY.

  • 3. Sophie  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:26 pm

    Hi,
    I just came across your blog and its great!

    I would love to enter your contest.. What motivates me to stay healthy is the love of running! I live in NYC as well and my Sunday long run is the greatest motivation to treat my body right and eat yummie food..

    Are you going to watch the marathon tomorrow?

  • 4. VeggieGirl  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:27 pm

    Oooh pomegranate!! Gorgeous.

    Have fun with football!!

    **What motives me to stay healthy:

    Knowing how amazing I feel by taking care of myself. As someone with MANY food allergies and Crohn’s Disease, it is VITAL that I stay healthy, in order to live!! That’s enough motivation for me!! 🙂

  • 5. Vanessa  |  November 1, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    What motivates me – I feel more energized.

  • 6. Erica  |  November 1, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    I want to feel young for as long as I possibly can. By putting thought into the foods I eat and taking the time to exercise, I can be healthy and stay younger longer 🙂 I also have to give it up for the ladies that take my classes- they also really motivate me to be/stay healthy! Wonderful contest yayyy for you 🙂

  • 7. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 1, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    what motivates me to stay healthy??
    i want to live FOREVER buahahaha
    ok, not forever, but for a really long time.
    i want to be the spunky great grandma that’s still kickin’– taking yoga, cracking jokes and enjoying her family.

    pick me pick me! i LIVE for peanut butter… and i need a little zap in my life 😀

  • 8. Maggie  |  November 1, 2008 at 6:00 pm

    What motivates me – I want to be around for my family, and I want to be/look/feel young and cool for as long as possible. When I have kids I want to be the best mom I can be and I think that staying healthy will let me do that. I want to be able to do anything that I can dream of, and health is so important for that 🙂 Not to mention that I feel great when I exercise and eat right. Great contest question!

  • 9. Alice  |  November 1, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    I am motivated by two different people in my life, and for different reasons.

    My twin brother, who helped me get back on my feet (literally) when we were seventeen, after I broke my back. His is the voice I always hear in my head when I’m feeling lazy or tired, or hitting the pain barrier.

    My mum, who has M.S. and is always so positive, doing what she can and trying so hard. Her struggles remind me how amazing it is to be *able* to do the most basic things. I also need to be fit to look after her.

    Good motivations, huh!

  • 10. Maddy  |  November 1, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I am motivated to be healthy so that I can have children and can take the very best care of them when I do. =)

  • 11. Hangry Pants  |  November 1, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    Many things. My present, my future, my jeans, my genes, my love of chocolate, my love of chips. 🙂

    Also, I just read your little poem about ProBars on my site. So cute!

  • 12. catms916  |  November 1, 2008 at 8:30 pm

    Great answers so far guys!!

    seeleelive I saw ZAP mentioned on someone’s blog and decided to google it actually… no referral. I have no problem getting in my fruits & veggies (I love ’em), I just was intrigued by the product and hey, not every day is perfect food-wise, so natural products like this that give a little extra ZAP (i had to..) come in handy.

  • 13. Betsy in Pittsburgh  |  November 1, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    uh oh. i don’t know if i should enter because i live in PITTSBURGH and my boyfriend goes to the university of PITTSBURGH… and guess who beat ND today? … PITTSBURGH 🙂

    aside from that, i stay motivated by reading my lists and goals in my moleskin journal every night before bed, and keeping a workout calendar that i have to check off every day.

  • 14. Lee (seelivelee)  |  November 2, 2008 at 9:10 am

    it sounds delicious! Can’t wait to try it-i love all spins on peanut butter as you know :^)

  • 15. Wholesome Foodie  |  November 2, 2008 at 1:24 pm

    Oooh that looks fab.
    What motivates me to stay healthy is the fact that I have a history of cancer and heart disease in my family, and have seen family members die because they wouldn’t change their lifestyles to make them healthier. This past summer I was also diagnosed with hydrophenosis, or a dilated kidney, and was told that it had lost most of its function. Up until then I had lead a relatively healthy lifestyle, but I decided to change my diet to a vegan and high raw diet, incorporate more exercise, and undertake the occasional juice fast. I only have one body and I don’t want to it to be taken away by something I can prevent!

  • 16. joanna  |  November 2, 2008 at 5:14 pm

    this peanut butter looks so freakin awesome. sweet potatoes in pb? im in love.

    i stay healthy because i love my body. it’s as simple as that. i want to feed it good food because it’s good to me.

  • 17. Sagan  |  November 2, 2008 at 8:16 pm

    So exciting! ZAP looks so good.

    What keeps me motivated is the way that I feel when I eat healthy and exercise. It’s life changing, it’s empowering- the feeling itself is inspiring! Being a small person, and being female, I know that many people underestimate my abilities, so getting stronger through exercise is one way to expand my capabilities and become more confident and stronger as a whole.

    The results and goal settings are also very motivating. Seeing yourself making real progress and surpassing your goals is fantastic. And, of course, BLOGGING is a great motivator! Through it I’ve also discovered my passion for health- it’s what now defines who I am. And doing what you love and being who you know you really ARE is very motivating!

  • 18. Rachel  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:35 am

    I am motivated to stay healthy, live healthy, BE healthy, because I feel that I was put on this earth for a reason and that I have a purpose that needs to be fulfilled. I have a VOICE and don’t want to waste one moment that I’m able to use it. I am a strong and faithful Christian and believe that I should treat my body like a “temple.” I use this body to praise God, to help others, to enjoy my family, to take care of friends, to enjoy the beautiful world around me, and to make music (one of the most important things in my life!).

    My body is a blessing and not only love it, but I RESPECT it. Exercise feels good, eating healthy feels right, and treating my body like the precious thing it is motivates me to make healthy decisions every day. And loving myself allows me to enjoy splurges every now and then without guilt!

    I am motivated by my past – to live healthy for the present – and to continue enjoying the most out of life for the future. 🙂

  • 19. rhodeygirl  |  November 3, 2008 at 9:35 am

    I think it was my blog, unless someone else posted the same thing about the pomegranate!

    congrats on winning the bsi! may i test the recipe this week for the blog?

  • 20. catms916  |  November 3, 2008 at 10:41 am

    rdodeygirl You’re right, it was yout blog!! I just edited my post to give you full credit. Thanks for the tip! And please, go ahead and make the recipe… I love it!

  • 21. Holly  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:05 am

    I love your blog! Congrats on winning the BSI…I seriously need to go out and buy a ton of more pears!

    Energy and feeling young motivates me to stay healthy. I love how I feel when I’m done with a workout…and it gives me such a positive outlook on everything. 🙂

  • 22. Rose  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:32 am

    What motivates me to stay healthy?

    Seeing my 92-year-old grandmother shoot hoops on the basketball court. If she can do it, so can I.

  • 23. yadi  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:43 am

    High energy is an awesome experience…, what more motivation do you need. Feel great and stay healthy.

  • 24. Fit Bottomed Girls  |  November 3, 2008 at 11:54 am

    They sent me some of this a few weeks ago, and I really like the PB. Perfect with some honey on toast. 🙂

    Well be posting a review of all the ZAP products in the next couple of weeks, so stay tuned. 🙂

  • 25. peanutbutterboy  |  November 3, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Excellent contest, thanks for notifying me!

    What motivates me to stay healthy? The prospect of a long, happy life and the notion that when I look and feel good I have more self confidence and energy.

    I like that pomegranate underwater idea. I imagine you still have to pick them out (from your pictures, it seems like they just fall out!) but much less mess, great tip!

  • 26. Carrie H  |  November 3, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    What motivates me to be healthy?
    Well, before my wedding it was one thing: Being Skinny. But, as that goal became more and more consuming and, to be honest, dangerous, I realized that being healthy is — well — simply about health. That means exercising for my overall well-being. That means eating healthy to feel better physically and mentally. And when realized that health isn’t about what I look like on the outside but how I feel and function on the inside, it became an attainable and great lifelong goal.

  • 27. Biz  |  November 3, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    That’s really interesting – I’ve never heard to that before!

    I just found out about fiery peanut butter at http://www.ilovepeanutbutter.com. I have to get that!

    Congrats on the pear BSI win too!

  • 28. runjess  |  November 3, 2008 at 12:35 pm

    My motivation is the way that being healthy makes me feel (especially that nice buzz from the endorphins). As I grow older, I think that I will be even more motivated to stay healthy. I will want to grow old and watch my children and grandchildren grow up.

    Congrats on the BSI win! Did you see Paula Radcliffe?
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 29. Kath  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    What motivates me? (Other than the fact that nearly 4,000 people log in each day to see what I’ve eaten?)

    I’d have to say officially the warm fuzzy feeling of making good choices. It’s priceless.

  • 30. Steph  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    What motivates me to stay healthy…..It just makes me feel so darn good! I suffered from anxiety a couple years ago, and through that experience I learned so much about how the foods I eat affect how I feel, physically and mentally.

  • 31. Blade  |  November 3, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Every day I take a shot
    at getting what the best have got

    it isn’t easy but I try
    to reach the stars, why not aim high?

    My body was a prison cell
    before I taught it to eat well

    and exercise, and bit by bit
    be healthy, happy and stay fit

  • 32. wholefoodswholeme  |  November 3, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    wow, love your blog! thanks for visiting mine 😀 and thanks for the info about this contest – sadly, i can’t take part since i live in the UK 😦 but, here’s my 2 cents just for the heck!
    as someone who is young, it’s not always easy to think longterm about things, whether it be decisions about education, relationships, money, etc. and health is definitely something that you need to build up, year after year, not something you can do at the last minute. wanting to look after my body so that it will stay strong no matter what age i will be, is a big motivation factor for me, as well as simply living for today, and letting yourself live in the best possible way!
    also as an aspiring concert pianist, it takes a lot of stamina to perform on stage, travel, hours and hours of practice and the emotional stresses of nerves & frustration, and keeping up your health & fitness can only do good for that.

    look forward to reading more of your blog!

  • 33. Daisy Melo  |  November 3, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    What motivates me to eat healthy is wanting to live. I see someone like my mom who has all kinds of health problems because of her poor diet. It breaks my heart and i know I wouldnt want to be put in a situation like that.

  • 34. Tracy  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:03 pm

    What motivates me is just knowing how fantastic I feel when I treat my body right! The thought of feeling any less than that keeps me on track!

  • 35. Lindsey  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    What motivates me to stay healthy on a daily basis is being able to have that positive energy all throughout the day that I can only have when I’m at my healthy best. I love the feeling of being perfectly content with who you are and proud of yourself when you reach health and fitness goals, and you know you’re living right. My family, friends, and my new husband motivate me to stay healthy too. I want to have a good, healthy, balanced life to share with them. 🙂

    Speaking of my husband…I feel I have to win for him! We’ve just been married 3 months and the one thing that disturbs marital bliss is peanut butter! Ok that’s a lie, but hubs LOVES peanut butter like nobody’s business, and it is SO HARD to get him to try, let alone like anything besides sugar-laden Jiff peanut butter! Winning this peanut butter could benefit the health of our marriage! 😉

  • 36. Lindsey  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Oops…if I had to do that in one sentence or one word, I guess I’d redo it to say “What motivates me to stay healthy: love”.

  • 37. Melissa  |  November 3, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    What motivates me?

    I used to be overweight and try to maintain it now. I also feel much better physically when I eat all natural and organic foods. I would love to try the Zap peanut butter!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930