I take my coffee iced.

March 26, 2011 at 11:19 am 1 comment

I cannot believe it, I am on my 28th day of the 30 day Bikram yoga challenge!  I actually missed a day last week (which is allowed), so I have to take two classes today to make up for it.  9am class done… now it’s time to refuel and prepare myself for an afternoon class.

Normally I am so not a coffee drinker, but for some reason after class the idea of coffee sounded so good to me.  Maybe it was that Starbucks I walked by on the way home… Anyway, I knew that buying a soy latte was probably the worst thing to do after a 105 degree yoga class, so I decided on the next best thing… a slushy Coffee Smoothie in a Bowl!  Here’s what I used:

  • 1/2 a very large banana I had in the fridge (frozen would be even better!)
  • 5 ice cubes
  • handful baby spinach
  • 1 date (pitted) – to add some extra sweetness
  • 1 tsp instant decaf coffee (I use Mount Hagen brand)
  • 2-4 drops vanilla extract
  • a pinch salt
  • 1 tsp psyllium husk (to add a little fiber for fullness factor)

Using my Vitamix and the handy temper tool, I blended everything until it was the consistency of soft serve ice cream and scooped it in a bowl.  Normally I use frozen bananas to make it more like ice cream, but since I had none on hand I stuck my bowl in the freezer to firm up a bit while showering.  So, so good – it brings a whole new meaning to “iced coffee”.   😉    

Well guys, I’m going to relax for a bit after my tough class this morning.  I always have more trouble in morning Bikram classes because I’m all stiff from just waking up.  It’s totally worth it though because after it I feel energized, yet so calm and ready to face the day.  Especially after doing so many days in a row now, I just feel as though my energy levels have gone up so much – not making me hyper though – just making me feel like I can never tire.  I love it!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dessert, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Vegan Coconut Ice Cream

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Stevia zoetstof  |  May 24, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    Great recipe! Keep up the good work.

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031