A different kind of commute

May 21, 2010 at 12:59 pm 2 comments

I accomplished my goal for yesterday – and then some!!  I had been wanting to try to run home from work for some time now, for both the challenge and to experience a new running route since open spaces for running in NYC are sorta hard to come by.  After work yesterday I changed into my running clothes, stuffed my work clothes and shoes into one of my drawers and locked it and grabbed by subway pass, ID and keys and hit the pavement!  I made sure not to bring my purse or wallet yesterday to reduce the amount of things I had to carry home with me.  I work waaaaay downtown – literally at the bottom point of Manhattan so I had a bit of a journey ahead of me up the West Side highway to get to Central Park, and then cross over to the Upper East Side.  I had no idea how far it would be so I took my trusty Garmin Forerunner 405

The West Side Highway running path was much nicer than I had expected!    Not only are you separated from the highway so that you’re not breathing in exhaust, but it goes alongside the Hudson River so I got a nice sea breeze as I ran along.  I even got to see the USS Intrepid on my way uptown! 

…it’s massive my friends!  I finally left the running path and made my way eastwards towards the park entrance at 72nd Street.  I looked at my Garmin and saw that it only took me 6 miles to get there – not bad!  When I got into the park I debated a little; cross directly at 72nd Street and head up to my apartment, or keep going?  The masochist in me won.  I almost think it’s a dangerous game for me to be reading the book Ultramarathon Man by Dean Karnazes.  It’s a truly amazing book, but it definitely awakens the warrior inside me and makes me want to push myself further and harder.  

…12 miles later I found myself at the exit to the park, tired and exhilarated.  It was my longest run since the Boston Marathon in April and felt great!!  I’m actually considering making this a weekly occurence for me.  Maybe it won’t be 12 miles every time (it would have been just about 8 miles if I had gone straight home), but it’s just a nice and different way to end the work day.  Next time though I’m definitely going to remember to bring some of these suckers though in case I make it a long run again… 

I was kinda fading by the end.  These little Honey Stinger chews are great though if you’ve never tried them.  Processed foods and running gels/chews can do a number on my digestive system so I was so happy to find these a little while ago.  They’re organic and use honey as the main sweetener so it’s much gentler on your tummy.  Plus they contain sodium, potassium and magnesium; which helps prevent cramps during intense exercise.  Try them out!!  Enjoy the beautiful weather today everybody – I know I will! 🙂

Entry filed under: Fitness, Products, Tips & Ideas. Tags: , , , .

Monster greens! Slaw & salad

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin  |  May 21, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Sounds like a fun run home! I’m so jealous of you living in New York. 🙂

    I just discovered those Honey Stingers, too! Have you tried Sharkies before? I’ve been torn between the two, so I trying them both before my marathon!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  May 24, 2010 at 9:55 pm

    Wow what an awesome run. That is a great way to let out some stress from a day at work. And your view was amazing!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



May 2010
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31