Ch-ch-ch-Chia!

April 3, 2010 at 9:36 am Leave a comment

Hey guys, sorry I’ve been so MIA all week!  It was just one of those weeks where things just never seemed to calm down, and then last night when I was all set to upload all the pictures I’ve taken this week of new recipes I realized the fiance had taken his camera home with him.  Boo…  Oh well.

Anyway, I have my last long run planned this morning, so I’m just sittin around lettin’ breakfast digest a bit before heading out.  Since the Boston Marathon is almost two weeks away at this point (eeek!) I only have to do 12 miles today, but I’m gonna feel it out and if I want to do more I’m going to keep going.  It’s one of the first really nice days here in NYC so I want to take advantage.  I’m trying something a bit new this time too… I normally take a water bottle with me on longer runs, but last night I was making some raw goodies for Easter (more on that later) and had some leftover coconut water so I filled up my water bottle with some coconutty deliciousness.

Mine was straight from the nut, but according to the Vita Coco coconut water site, coconut water has 15x more Potassium than the leading sports drinks, it boosts circulation and helps carry oxygen to the sells, helps regulate your body temp and oh yah… it tastes awesome!  If you don’t have any Thai coconuts sitting around you should go out and buy the stuff and see what you think!  …And no, I did not get free stuff from the company, nor did they pay me to say that, I just really think it’s yummy and so good for you.  I’ll let y’all know how it was running and using it for hydration after I get back!

I commend all of you for getting this far, so now I shall reward you with pictures of the yummy snack I have waiting for me after my run… Chia Pudding!  

This stuff is soo good.  I made a big batch earlier this week and have been enjoying it a ton over the past few days.  I stole this recipe from Megan over at Healthy Hoggin’ – thanks girlie!!  Here’s the recipe as listed on Megan’s blog with a few tweaks just because I didn’t have all the ingredients handy at the time.

Coconut Chia Pudding by Megan (makes 2 servings)

  • 1/4 c. chia seeds  
  • 1/4 c. dried, unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 c. cashew milk (I made my own)
  • dashes, cinnamon, cloves, nutmeg and ginger
  • pinch sea salt
  • 5 drops clear Stevia (or to taste)

This was so easy… you just mix everything together and then pop it in the fridge and in about 20 minutes it’s all set and gelled!!  Yummers, ok off to run my little tush off!  Enjoy your Saturday everybody!  😛

Entry filed under: breakfast, Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , , .

Coconut Yogurt! Holy Guacamole!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930