Falafels in a box!

April 26, 2010 at 5:53 pm 4 comments

The weather outside is definitely frightful today… rain, rain and more rain!  I’m sure the trees and flowers are loving it, but despite my affinity with plant-life, enjoying getting rained on is not something that we share.  Summer rains are a whole different beast of course, but that’s because I strangely enjoy thunder and lighting.  Plus getting wet when it’s warm out is far different than a 40 degree, cold, rainy day.  Clearly I needed something warm, spicy and comforting to dry me out from the inside out!  Enter the falafel.  

I seriously love falafel, yet for some reason I have never in my life tried to make it before!  Since this was my first time and all, I um, used a mix.  😳   Don’t judge!!  It was actually pretty amazing… I highly recommend it.

I used the Fantastic Foods brand mix because the ingredients were all natural and mostly organic and it was 100% vegan.  True, I’m not a full vegan (and even had a tiny bit of yogurt with these), but I mainly eat a diet that is 90% vegan out of personal preference.  

These were to die for… both in salad form and gyro form!  I topped it with some homemade tzatziki/cacik sauce.  I didn’t have cucumber so it wasn’t traditional and I kind of melded the two recipes anyway.  I used 0% plain Chobani, 1 clove garlic mashed into paste, a dash dried mint, 1/2 tsp dried dill, 1 tbsp finely minced white onion, salt to taste, and the juice from 1/2 a lemon.  Divine!

Well I’m off to catch up on some episodes of Life.  Sooo obsessed with that show!  If you guys have never seen it you should totally check it out – it’s on Discovery Channel and has some of the most amazing animal/nature shots I’ve ever seen.

Entry filed under: Dinner, Products, Recipes.

Heal the world (and my legs!) No more training plan!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa @ For the Love of Health  |  April 26, 2010 at 6:23 pm

    mmmm looking at those photos made me hungry 🙂

  • 2. Jennifer  |  April 28, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Awesome food girl. I wanted to let you know that I added you to my blogroll. 🙂

  • 3. glidingcalm  |  May 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    mmmmmmmmmmmm i adore falafel! Have you tried the falafel Sunshine burgers? I hear they are amazing!! I have some free coupons so I hope to pick up some soon!

    And which bean curd cakes? Can you send me a picture? You don’t mean mochi do you?

  • 4. Catherine  |  May 16, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    I think it’s called daifuku?? It looked like this when I saw it in the store… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Daifuku_1.jpg

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930