Heal the world (and my legs!)

April 22, 2010 at 8:19 pm 4 comments

Happy Earth Day everybody!!  It’s been a few days since the marathon, but I am finally feeling like my old self.  Despite a little lingering muscle soreness, I was itching to get moving today.  I didn’t want to push it though and cause any  trauma to my legs since they’re still healing from the marathon so I figured it was a good day for the pool.  20 laps and I called it a day!

I was hungry and soo not in the mood to cook tonight so I just broiled a few Dr. Praegers Cali burgers and had them over a bed of lettuce with some Dijon mustard.

…with a side of sauerkraut of course and some steamed edamame sprinkled with salt.

Dessert was ah-mazing – Earth Day Ice Cream!  I threw about 2 chopped frozen bananas, a handful of spinach and a tiny splash of peppermint extract into my Cuisinart and blended until the consistency of soft-serve ice cream, stopping occasionally to scrape the sides.    Topped with some agave mixed + cocoa powder.   It was love at first bite! 😀

In honor of Earth Day, try to do your part in going green.  Caring about the environment really matters, not just for you but for the future generation as well.  Who doesn’t want to keep the world clean for their future kiddies?  Here’s a few ways I try to do my part:

  • Taking public transportation/ walking as much as possible
  • Buying organic, locally grown foods as much as possible
  • Eating mostly vegan (learn how eating meat affects the environment HERE)
  • Bringing cloth bags to the grocery store
  • Educating those around me about how to help

Entry filed under: Dessert, Recipes, thoughts, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

26.2 miles Falafels in a box!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Katherine: What About Summer?  |  April 22, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    wow- Earth Day ice cream? Someone suggest that to ben and jerry PLEASE!

  • 2. Catherine  |  April 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

    Katherine: Haha funny you say that – I actually did suggest a similar non-dairy ice cream to the makers of SoDelicious!! I just loved how the green and brown represented the lush greenery and rich soil of our earth so well!

  • 3. Kris | iheartwellness.com  |  April 23, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    Ooo what a great dessert doll!! i think I will try this as I have some frozen ninners waiting to be used!

    Do you make your own sauerkraut? I love it so much!
    But I guess that is because I was raised on it being German and all 😉

    XXOO

  • 4. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries  |  April 25, 2010 at 9:26 am

    LOVE your Earth day ice cream! I will definitely be trying that 🙂

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930