Savasana & Stew

February 21, 2011 at 8:03 pm Leave a comment

Today I was lucky enough to have a day off from work, so after waiting for the arrival of my Wedding invites (they look awesome!!) I decided to take advantage of all that free time and head over to my Bikram Yoga studio.  I don’t know what got into me, but after my first class with Kara that was amaze, I decided to actually stay and participate in the next class with Lorenza!  I had never done a back to back double, but let me tell you, three hours of Bikram in a 100+ degree room is intense!  During the 1/2 hour break before the second class started I grabbed a Zico to get some electrolytes back into my body and then sailed through the second class.  It seriously went by so much faster and my concentration was outta this world!  Of course… final Savasana was maybe my favorite pose of the day.   😉

When I got back home I was happy I had prepped dinner the night before.  I was making a variation of Mark Bittman’s Braised Lentils with Celery listed in “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian”, although I’ve changed it SO much (mine’s actually more of a stew bc I like it soupy), that I will post it here for you guys.

Celery Stew – serves 4-6 

  • 1 head celery, chopped including leaves
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 c. green/brown lentils
  • 4 cups veggie broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1/4 cup red wine (or more broth)
  • 1/4 lemon, juiced
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • water as needed to thin
  1. After prepping all of the veggies, heat the oil in a deep stock pot and throw in the celery, onion and garlic.  Cook for about 6-8 minutes until the veggies begin to soften.
  2. Pour in the veggie broth, lentils, bay leaf, lemon juice and wine (I actually used sake this time simply because it was on hand) and bring the pot to a boil.  Immediately lower the heat so that the mixture is simmering and cover partially.  Season with salt and pepper.
  3. Simmer the stew about 30 minutes until the lentils are tender, but if you have more time keep it on the stove!  Soups and stews always improve over time.  If the stew doesn’t seem soupy enough to you, add some additional water and heat through.  I almost always do simply because I love the earthy broth.
  4. Pour into a bowl & enjoy!

This is soo good along with some whole wheat crusty bread, but since I has none on hand I just ate it on it’s own.  It was magical.  Okey, I am officially spent so I’m going to go zone out in front of some Law & Order – enjoy your night!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Welcome back squash! Just like 31 Flavors!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

