Physique-d out

February 2, 2011 at 8:31 pm 2 comments

Today I went to my second Physique 57 class tonight and promptly had my butt handed to me.  I thought I was in shape, but good lord the chicas in that class must have muscles of steel… I couldn’t stop my thighs from shaking halfway through most of the exercises!  Totally worth it though 😀     If you live in NYC or LA, you should definitely try it out!

How did I refuel after a hard workout?  With roasted Butternut Squash and another amazing Veganomicon creation!

Escarole and white beans anyone??  It was all I could do to not eat this straight out of the pan…  I tweaked the recipe just a tad because I happened to have some freshly roasted garlic on my hands.

Escarole with Capers and White Beans: (from Veganomicon)  

  • 1 head escarole (I chopped mine up a bit)
  • 1 tsp or so of EVOO
  • 6 cloves garlic, minced (mine was roasted garlic)
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes (or more!)
  • 1/3 c. capers
  • salt to taste
  • 1 c. cooked white beans (I used butter beans)

I looove butter beans and caper so this was right up my alley!  The escarole gets soft, yet not mushy and the capers add such an awesome briney flava to it all.  Definitely will be making this again.  I feel like this would be awesome used as a bruschetta-type topping if you chop up the escarole into smaller pieces too… hmm maybe my leftovers have that in their future.

I topped off the night with some delectable cocoa pudding using CCK’s agar pudding recipe.  1 tbsp agar flakes, 1 1/3 c. almond milk, almond extract, a dash stevia and a tbsp cocoa powder?  Easy peasy and pure heaven!!  

Night night chickadees – hopefully I won’t wake up too sore tomorrow! 😉

Entry filed under: Dessert, Dinner, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Here’s to a New Year Hey there sports fans!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chocolate-Covered Katie  |  February 2, 2011 at 9:33 pm

    Aww chocolate pudding! Yummy :). Happy Tuesday, sweetie pie!

  • 2. Physique 57  |  February 5, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    Thanks for visiting our studio. Would love to have you back for another class soon. We have some great workshops throughout this month to celebrate our 5 year anniversary.

    Have a great weekend Catherine!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

