It’s gettin hot in here (so hot!)

June 5, 2010 at 9:14 pm 4 comments

Wow, today was a scorcher!  I  really wanted to go running today, but unfortunately I lounged around too much so by the time I was ready to get moving it was ridiculously hot & humid so I decided to kill some time by getting groceries and got back just as the mailman was leaving and what did I find in my mailbox?  A gift certificate for Barnes & Noble from the lovely Gliding Calm!  Thanks girlie, you totally made my day! 😀  I had won a raw cookbook giveaway on her blog a while back and there was a problem with the company that was supposed to send it, so she took it upon herself to sent me a little gift out of her own pocket.  So sweet!  What did I buy with my prize??  

Ani’s Raw Food Kitchen… yessss!  I’ve been drooling over this book in the bookstore for way too long, so I figured now was the perfect time to scoop it up.  Plus, in this weather, who wants to cook?  Peekay was intrigued as well…

After perusing the cookbook and lazing around the apartment I finally decided by 5:30 that I was going to run – heat or no heat.  Mayyybe I should’ve taken water though.  Sigh, hindsight is 20/20.  I ended up doing 13 miles, with a few stops at various water fountains in the park (normally an ick factor for me, but when it still reads 86 degrees on the giant clock over Columbus Circle at 6pm you stop being picky).  Unfortunately dehydration kicked in at mile 12.5 and the last leg was murrr-dah – sorry I have Nelly in my head apparently.  I revived myself with a coconut water & protein smoothie at home and decided to stuff my face with a rockin’ snack plate a la Miss Gliding Calm.

Pita & hummus swirled with ungodly amounts of Texas Pete hot sauce, alongside a veggie plate & some homemade Balsamic vinaigrette for dipping.  For the Balsamic Vinaigrette I blended 2 tbsp Balsamic vinegar, 6 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp honey, 1 tbsp Dijon mustard, 1 clove garlic – minced, and 1/2 tsp Herbs de Provence.  It kinda rocked my face off.  The wine I got was pretty awesome too!  It was a Vino Verde that was tart, refreshing and had a bit of a sparkle to it.  Ok, I’m outie.  I’m all ready to watch the movie Dear John with Channing Tatum (my other fiance) and Amanda Seyfried.

Still of Channing Tatum in Dear John

Can we just take a moment here to appreciate the perfection that is Channing Tatum?  Ok sorry…  The real fiance is in Florida tearin up the golf course with two of his buddies, so I am taking full advantage of being able to watch girlie movies. 😉  G’night all!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: , , .

The Candle at the end of the tunnel Flax. It’s what’s for breakfast

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diana @ frontyardfoodie  |  June 5, 2010 at 10:25 pm

    It IS hot!! I went for a run in 90+! Not cool.

  • 2. Jennifer  |  June 7, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I know exactly what you mean, today was so hot! I’m trying to get myself in the habit of running at 6:30 am because it’s in the middle 60s. But today I totally turned off my alarm and had to wait until this evening. I usually go when there is about an hour left of sunlight left. Even then it was 90 degrees! I love the Summer, but I gotta say that I prefer to run in cold weather.

  • 3. glidingcalm  |  June 8, 2010 at 8:12 am

    1) HUGSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

    2) CHANNING IS A GOD and i am dying to see that movie!!!

  • 4. bubblegumgymkat  |  July 9, 2010 at 8:19 am

    I totally want to take your cat home..SIamese are my favorite!! And um YES hello PLEASE…mmm Channing!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

