Double double, toil and trouble…

May 28, 2010 at 9:32 am 3 comments

Yesterday I completed a double workout and man was I tired afterwards!  I went to bed on the early side last night though and slept for almost 9 hours last night 🙂  What can I say?  I kicked my own butt!

If you guys have no idea what I’m talking about, a double workout means just that – I ran in the morning and then I ran again after work.  I used to do doubles during marathon training after reading this article in Runner’s World: Double Your Pleasure  Basically the article states that the more miles you log per week, the better your running economy… meaning you use “less energy to run fast”.  Who wouldn’t want that?

I guess there are people who would argue that it’s better to vary the types of workouts you have so that you consistently burn lots of calories, but personally I’d rather be able to run and burn fewer calories per mile because it means I can go for longer without having to carry extra food with me.  There was a time in my life when exercise equaled calories burned, but now I run for my cardiovascular and well, mental, health. 

I’ve actually noticed over the years as I have upped my mileage that I am less ravenous after a run – regardless of distance, and feel much less drained and needing of a nap.  To me this is good news because I like running to be a part of my day, not to be the focal point of my day.  My life is punctuated by runs, My running is not punctuated by periods of rest & sleep.  Of course don’t get me wrong… I love biking, swimming, snowboarding, kayaking and a million other activities, but running probably has the biggest and most consistent presence in my daily life.

Why do I run?  I actually keep a list of reasons saved on my computer that I like to open and read occasionally for motivation.  I’d like to share my reasons with you (in no particular order of importance) – maybe they’ll change the way you look at running a little.

Why I run…

  • No matter how short the run, I get a wonderful feeling of accomplishment afterwards
  • A healthy immune system
  • Makes me appreciate my body and remember that true beauty is strength, health and endurance
  • Instant stress and tension relief
  • A complete escape from my thoughts – I can literally just “turn off”
  • An all over glow and relaxed, yet energized feeling afterwards
  • Provides an escape from the boredom of sitting inside
  • A chance to get outside and remember how beautiful nature is
  • Gives me an opportunity to talk to God
  • Makes me feel strong and like a true athlete
  • Makes me look at food in a different way; more as fuel and something to be thankful for than a source of stress or anxiety
  • After a run I always sleep better
  • After I complete really hard runs, or run in bad conditions, I feel like I can tackle any problem in my life
  • The more I run, the more pride I feel in taking care of myself
  • Makes my cramps go away!
  • Food never tastes as good as it does after a hard run
  • I love the way running makes my body look

Why do you run??

Entry filed under: Fitness, thoughts. Tags: , .

Another use for chickpeas National Running Day!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  May 30, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    Hi cathrine, I am new to blogging and stumbled upon your blog! I;m curious: have you ever tried baking with stevia? I’ve been meaning to but i’m nervous as to how it will turn out!

  • 2. Jennifer  |  May 30, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    I LOVE this post! I always love reading about your runs. I just did a post of some of the problems I’m experiencing with my running, if you’ve got time, please read it, I would love your advice. 😀

  • 3. Catherine  |  June 5, 2010 at 9:21 pm

    I’ve only used stevia in small amounts in baking, just reducing the sugar amounts and using Stevia, The NuNaturals website actually has instructions for how to make substitutions. Good luck with your baking!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

