Indian Food… Thursday?

April 15, 2010 at 7:24 pm 3 comments

Last night I tried to celebrate Indian Food Wednesday a la The Fitnessista, but silly me – my Chana Dal beans had to be soaked for 6-8 hours first!!  …which I realized after I added all the spices.   😳   Needless to say, we ended up ordering out and deciding to leave the beans and spices to soak in the pot overnight for dinner tonight.  I hit the pool after work today for a good mile swim since I’m cutting down my running for the Boston Marathon on Monday – eek!  When I came back the deliciousness started simmering away…   

Along with some homemade Chapati bread made from simply white wheat flour, salt & water.

And a lovely salad with tomatoes, capers and a simple vinaigrette.  Delicioso!  I used Mark Bittman’s recipes from “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” for the dal and chapati, although I had to make some subs in the dal recipe because I didn’t have exactly all the ingredients listed – and I like lots o’ garlic!

Chana Dal w/Tomatoes (serves two hungry, hungry hippos)

  • 1 c. Chana Dal, soaked overnight
  • 2 tbsp minced, peeled fresh garlic
  • 2 tbsp garlic, smashed into a paste
  • 1/2 tsp ground cardamom
  • 1/4 tsp mustard powder
  • 2 whole cloves
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 whole dried red chili
  • salt to taste
  • 2 plum tomatoes, seeded & chopped

Combine the lentils, ginger, garlic, spices and red chili into a stew pot and cover with about an inch of water.  Cook at a simmer until soft about 25 minutes.  Remove the cloves, and stir in the chopped tomatoes and cook about 5 more minutes.  Eat with the Chapati and enjoy!

Sorry I’ve been so MIA recently, but to be honest I’m starting to get pretty nervous about the Boston Marathon so I haven’t been blogging or anything a ton – just trying to keep busy and keep my mind off the 26.2 miles looming ahead!!  😯

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Sushi time! Naner ice cream!!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jess  |  April 15, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I love Indian food! I’m lazy and just do canned chickpeas.

    Forgot to answer your question: I haven’t run Boston. I hear the course is challenging.

  • 2. NYCRunnerGirl  |  April 16, 2010 at 6:51 am

    I can’t believe the marathon is here! Good luck, I’m sure you’ll do well. It will really be a reflection of all of the hard work you’ve put in during training. I can’t wait to read the recap!

  • 3. Catherine  |  April 16, 2010 at 9:43 pm

    NYCRunnerGirl: Thanks! I’m a little nervous just because of what I’ve heard about the course, but excited as well.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

