A spiralized delight!

March 27, 2010 at 1:33 pm 9 comments

I just got my brand new Joyce Chen spiralizer and I was literally skipping home from the post office thinking of all the meals I couldn’t wait to try with this.  I don’t normally like zucchini, but I remember my mom making a raw pesto growing up out of walnuts, basil, zucchini, garlic and olive oil which I used to love, so I figured raw spaghetti might not taste quite so squash-y with the right sauce.  Man was I right!!  Need proof?  

I made Natalia Rose’s Amazing Raw “Peanut” Sauce.  With sauces like this, who needs a stove?!  This sauce was so rich, creamy and decadent – and didn’t contain a single peanut!  It really reminded me of a Pad Thai sauce.  I actually ended up adding more water to this and more chili peppers because I like my foods with a little spice 😉  I served this over raw zucchini noodles along with julienned carrots, red cabbage and broccoli (which I lightly blanched).

Amazing Raw “Peanut” Sauce by Natalia Rose (makes a little over 1 cup)

  • 1/2 c. raw almond butter  
  • 1.5 tbsp fresh ginger
  • 1/3 c. water
  • 2 tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1.5 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 4 dried red chilis (seen here)

Blend all ingredients in the Vita Mix until smooth, adding more water as needed to thin and Voila!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Food Combining + Raw Chocolate = Love Coconut Yogurt!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Picnics and Peonies  |  March 28, 2010 at 3:58 pm

    This meal looks gorgeous! I love any sort of healthy peanut sauce. I also love your blog name… Stevia is my best friend 🙂

  • 2. Jess  |  March 28, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    I might use that peanut sauce recipe!

    Before long runs I usually have a Snickers Marathon Energy bar and then take Gu with me, usually only 2.

  • 3. glidingcalm  |  March 28, 2010 at 11:02 pm

    I LOVEEEEEEEEEEEEEE me some raw zuke spirals!! and guess what girl……….. you can make some more raw food soon……CUZ YOU WON MY GIVEAWAYYYYYYYY! WA—CHAAA!!

    send me your addy asap!!
    CongratS!!!

  • 4. kbwood  |  March 29, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    i am soo jelous of your spiralizer! im DYING to get one!! yummm!!

  • 5. Catherine  |  March 29, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    Gliding Calm: Ahh I’m so excited!!!! I’m sending you my address right now!!

    Jess: Thanks for the info, ever since my bad Gu/running experience on Saturday I’ve started to worry about fueling before/during the Boston marathon.

  • 6. Can You Stay for Dinner  |  March 30, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Catherine, I’m so glad that you commented on my blog so that I could find yours! You have such passion and creativity for beautiful, healthy meals. I’m loving what I see here! The peanut sauce looks divine!!
    Thanks so much for such an inspiring blog! I’ll be back for more!!

  • 7. Sonia  |  March 30, 2010 at 10:49 pm

    This is so beautiful! I must try this!

  • 8. Mo@MommyRD  |  April 1, 2010 at 4:50 pm

    I just made raw zucchini noodles last night myself. I’ve made that peanut sauce before and it’s probably my new “go to” sauce.

  • 9. Catherine  |  April 3, 2010 at 2:12 pm

    Me too – it’s addicting!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

