Raw Detox – Day 2

March 24, 2010 at 7:45 pm 4 comments

Warning: this is an epic post!

I know I mentioned detoxing a while back now, but I fiiinally am getting around to posting on this!  Last week I bought the book The Raw Food Diet by Natalia Rose and completely devoured it in about two days.  I can’t quite explain how well this book seemed to just speak to me.  To make a long story short, I feel like I have been searching my whole life for a way of eating that works well for my body and allows me to enjoy and love pure foods without feeling like I’m depriving myself of treats and taste.  I might be a little premature in saying so, but I think this book may have been the missing link I have been searching for.

Not just in terms of a clean eating approach does this book make sense to me, but the concept of food combining just kind of makes sense to me.  In addition to this book I have done a TON of reading on the subject, so don’t think I’m the kind of person who hears something in a book and takes it as the word of God.  I make sure to get all the facts before I decide if somethings for me – inclusive of pro-con lists 😉  After reading the book I discovered I am considered a “Level 2”, but since I’m new to this, after reading the sample menu, I decided starting at a “level 3” was better for my lifestyle right now.  Level 3 technically means you go “raw ’til dinner” and allows the inclusion of cooked fish, although I’m still stickin’ to my vegetarianism right now so I sub in other options.

Since reading the book I purchased a Breville juicer which has changed my life – for serious chickadees.  I have been transitioning into cleaner eating and incorporating more raw foods into my diet over the past week because I didn’t want to totally shock my system (even though I was already eating minimally processed, clean foods).  I also started practicing proper food combining to the best of my abilities leading up to yesterday and then had my first real “raw detox day yesterday”.  What does that mean?  I started the day off with lots of green juice, then tons of fruits all day followed by a big raw salad with goat cheese and bread for dinner.  I know I went pretty hardcore for day 1, but I wanted to start it off with a bang.

Today I went mostly raw ’til dinner again with a big salad with veggies for lunch, but then kinda cheated with some whole wheat pretzels for a snack later in the day before my evening run.  I’m not worried though because I feel like the biggest key to focus on is making sure I combine my foods properly and then just do the best I can in terms of eating as raw as I can during the day.  I finished off my day with leftover Detox Lasagna and a salad with the most amazing Raw Caesar Dressing ever from the book.  Seriously, I usually hate salad dressing and I could bathe in this stuff.  

Raw Caesar Dressing by Natalia Rose (makes 3 cups)

  • 1/4 c. cold-pressed olive oil  
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 4 medium stalks celery, chopped
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/4 c. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 c. soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp white miso
  • 4 medjool dates
  • fresh pepper, to taste

Blend all of the ingredients in a Vita Mix until smooth and creamy!

I’m new to this new raw food thing, so expect to see lots of new recipes in my coming posts!!

Entry filed under: Recipes, Side Dishes, thoughts. Tags: , .

Lipton Tea… w/Stevia? Food Combining + Raw Chocolate = Love

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  March 24, 2010 at 8:24 pm

    That book was a turning point in my life, too! It was that “ah-ha” moment I’d been looking for. Doesn’t she explain things so well?

    I’ve done tons of reading and research on the subject, too, and the more I read, the more I’m convinced that this is the BEST approach to health– plus it’s really enjoyable! I think a Level 3 is definitely a great place to be, since you can enjoy so much variety! Plus, this is the perfect time for detox with the warmer weather coming in! Eating raw food is way more enjoyable with the sun out.

    My husband bought me my Breville Juicer right after I read the book, too. Now I can’t imagine life without it! 😉

    Look forward to seeing how it goes!

  • 2. Raw Detox – Day 2 « Stevia 'n Spice… Eating  |  March 24, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    […] post: Raw Detox – Day 2 « Stevia 'n Spice… By admin | category: detox food | tags: abilities, abilities-leading, also-started, […]

  • 3. Catherine  |  March 25, 2010 at 9:40 pm

    I seriously cannot thank you enough for turning me onto that book!! I have a feeling this is going to become a true lifestyle change for me.

  • 4. Jennifer  |  March 29, 2010 at 6:06 pm

    Wow that Raw Diet Book sounds interesting. I have done a raw diet for a week straight as a form of detox, but have never took it on as a lifestyle change. Great post!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

