Raw Power!

March 17, 2010 at 6:27 pm 1 comment

So yesterday I had to make up for not running over the weekend and ended up having to fit in a 20-miler into my regular workday.  After said experience I learned that it is a much better idea to just suck it up in the rain and run on the weekend so that you have time to REST the next day!  I actually split into two runs to make it more doable: 7mi before work and 13 mi after work.  Man was I hurting today!!

I knew my muscles had some serious repairing to do, so I figured I should fill my body with as many clean nutrient-rich foods as possible.  I started off the morning with a Popeye Special (in honor of St Patty’s), followed by a big salad for lunch and decided to continue the raw trend into dinner.  

You’re lookin at Raw Ginger-Carrot Soup!  …with some chip & salsa on the side.  Ok, so not completely raw.

I used a recipe from the Clean Program recipes – the detox program that my sister & her hubs is doing with a few modification just ’cause I like my food spicy.  🙂  Check it.  It makes a lovely dip for my chips too…

Raw Ginger-Carrot Soup (makes 2-4 servings)

  • 1.5 c. butternut squash, peeled & diced  
  • 2 c. carrots, diced
  • 1/2 c. zucchini, diced
  • 1/4 c. red onion, chopped
  • 1/4 c. celery, sliced
  • 1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2-inch chunk fresh ginger
  • 4 c. water

**after pouring my bowl I added 1/4 tsp garam masala, pinch white pepper and a generous pinch cayenne.  Love in a bowl my friends.

Simply throw everything in the Vita Mix and blend until creamy.  Serve at room temp or heat slightly.

Question: Have of you guys ever tried going totally raw??

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, Side Dishes. Tags: .

Detox Lasagna!! “I crown thee…”

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  March 18, 2010 at 2:20 am

    Yes! I went all raw for 30 days straight last summer, and it was awesome! I lost a lot of weight and felt amazing! However, it’s hard to keep up for me when it gets chilly outside! And it’s also really hard to get back into once you start eating cooked food again.

    Maybe when it gets really warm here again, I’ll give it another go! Raw, hydrating foods are definitely more appealing when it feels like an oven outside! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

