Detox Lasagna!!

March 15, 2010 at 2:36 pm 9 comments

I finally tried Megan from Healthy Hoggin’s Detox Lasagna and all I can say is what took me so long?!  Healthy, check. Flavorful, filling and delicious – check, check and check!  Seriously guys, I know all about how über healthy recipes can sometimes be a bit bland, but you don’t have to suffer to feel self-righteous and healthy!

I followed Megan’s recipe exactly, except for subbing artichokes for the mushrooms because I don’t like to deviate too much when I’m unfamiliar with a recipe.  I’m so glad I did though because it was amazing!

I served this deliciousness along with some spinach couscous I found at one of the coolest markets I’ve ever been to – a place called Kalustyan’s located on Lexington Ave between 29th and 28th Streets.  They have every grain, spice and sauce imaginable!  I was in heaven 🙂  And you just haaave to love the rainbow effect it brought to dinner.  Don’t be shy about reserving this recipe for vegetarians either – the meat-eating fiance loved it!  …and since we had watched Food Inc. the day before it was sorta welcome.  I’m probably going to post a movie review on that a bit later on, but for now, Megan’s lovely recipe!

Detox Lasagna – from Healthy Hoggin’ (makes 4-6 servings in a 8×8 pan)

  • 3 medium zucchini
  • 1 medium butternut squash
  • 1 c. diced artichoke hearts
  • 1 jar, high-quality marinara sauce
  • 1 bunch fresh basil, julienned
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Slice your butternut squash in half, and place cut-side down onto a cookie sheet lined with foil. Bake in the oven for 30-40 minutes, until fork tender.
  2. Once the squash is in the oven, slice the zucchini into flat, noodle-like strips.  You should wind up with enough slices to make at least 4 layers in your pan. Lightly grease another baking sheet, and arrange the zucchini “noodles” in a single layer (you may need to use two pans for this). Roast them in the oven, along with your squash, for the last 15-20 minutes of baking time. This reduces the moisture in the zucchini, making them more noodle-like. (and your lasagna less watery!) Remove the squash and zucchini from the oven, and allow them to cool to touch. Reduce the oven temperature to 350 degrees.
  3. Remove the seeds of the squash, then scoop the flesh into a medium bowl. Smash the flesh with a fork until it is a uniform consistency. Begin arranging the layers of your lasagna.
  4. Start with a small amount of marinara sauce, to prevent sticking, then lay down your first layer of zucchini noodles. Top them with half of the mashed butternut squash, using a fork to press it into a flat layer. Next, sprinkle a half cup of diced artichokes, and a sprinkle of fresh basil. Top it all off with 1/3 jar marinara sauce. Then repeat the layers: zucchini noodles, the other half of the squash, half cup artichokes, basil and 1/3 jar marinara. Finish the lasagna with a final layer of zucchini noodles, and top it all off with the last of the marinara sauce and fresh basil.
  5. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, or until heated through, then serve immediately!

***Next time I would use homemade marinara sauce instead of jarred.  Since it’s winter I would make my sauce from canned tomatoes for better flavor.

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes.

Trigger Point Raw Power!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  March 15, 2010 at 2:43 pm

    I’m so glad you liked it!! 😀

  • 2. Jenelle  |  March 16, 2010 at 11:04 am

    It’s beautiful! I’m putting this on my list of dinners to make ASAP. I’m sure it’ll be especially wonderful with some farmers’ market-fresh produce once the seasons change.

  • 3. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  March 16, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    Looks delicious! I’m definitely craving lasagna now! 🙂

  • 4. Catherine  |  March 16, 2010 at 4:06 pm

    As I was eating this I was thinking of all of the different variations I could make so as to incorporate seasonal veggies into the mix – summer squash, eggplant, asparagus – expect to see this pop up a lot more often on my blog!!

  • 5. Lara (Thinspired)  |  March 17, 2010 at 12:52 pm

    Oh I am so going to try this! I have always wanted to try making a noodle-less lasagna, but I prefer working from a recipe. It looks like your turned out great, so I’ll definitely have to give it a whirl. Thanks for sharing!

  • 6. Lori  |  April 2, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    I’m going to have to try this recipe out tonight! Oh my goodness it looks great!

  • 7. Catherine  |  April 3, 2010 at 2:11 pm

    Definitely try it – Megan’s a whiz in the kitchen, I loved this!

  • 8. elinasingh  |  June 27, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Looks awesome! I’m going to try…

  • 9. Dudette  |  April 5, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    Detox lasagna?! Whaaat? I think I want to try it with pesto instead of marinara. Would that be a crime?!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

