Trigger Point

March 13, 2010 at 12:22 pm 5 comments

A few days ago my sister was telling me about a 21-day detox called Clean Program she and her husband are about to start.  It sounds really intriguing – basically you make a smoothie in the morning and at night with a special mix of protein powder, vitamins and minerals and you can add nut milk and berries, and then during the day you eat one solid meal (if you’re not looking to lose weight you can snack as much as you want too), but it needs to be on the “approved food” list.  Basically it excludes peanuts, all dairy, sugar, artificial sweetners, red meat, caffeine, alcohol, soy derived products, wheat and a few other things since they are all natural known allergens.  The whole point is that once you’re done you gradually add in each group one at a time to figure out what foods do and do not agree with you – your “trigger foods”.

While I am not doing the cleanse because I feel I eat pretty clean as it is and honestly I just can’t justify spending $350 right now, I was really intrigued.  It got me thinking about a lot of foods I eat and how they make me feel.  There are certain foods that if I eat, I can’t control how much I eat and I get sort of a weird “high” where I then want to eat just to eat, not out of hunger.  These foods don’t sit well with me either and tend to affect me even the day after eating them.  I haven’t fully identified all of my trigger foods, but I have a sneaking suspicion sugar is the culprit.  Sugar sneaks it way into many foods that you don’t realize – ketchup, white breads, and shockingly even dairy! — read this article if you’re interested about the sugar found in dairy.

I want to do an experiment to see if there is any noticeable difference in how I feel, both physically and mentally, if I completely cut out sugar (aside from those found naturally in fruits & vegetables) for one week.  That means no white/brown sugar, maple syrup, high fructose corn syrup, molasses, artificial sweetners, and honey.  I’m even cutting out bananas just because they can be so high in sugar when ripe.  Of course, I still plan to have stevia and maybe even agave nectar, because both products have never had any adverse effects on me.  It won’t be a perfect experiment, because like I said – sugar hides everywhere – but I’m going to just use my best judgement on what to avoid.

Sorry for the epic post guys!  I just got really intrigued by all of that.  I will leave you with a picture of my deliciousness this morning – a Chocolate Popeye Special!!  Just add cocoa powder kiddies.  😉  

I mixed up the fruits today too and used strawberries, blueberries and papaya just because I had them on hand – it was amazing!!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Drinks. Tags: .

I made an uh-oh Detox Lasagna!!

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Amy @ Second City Randomness  |  March 13, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    I did a no sweets week (sort of cutting out the majority of my sugar intake). I made it to day 6. Which was honestly longer than I thought I would. The cravings chill out a little after the first couple of days… (I apparently consume ALOT of sugar). By day 5 or 6, I just felt like I was eating cleaner. Which was nice.

    But I can’t give up my cupcakes… :p

  • 2. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  March 15, 2010 at 12:45 pm

    That 21 day detox sounds interesting, I’ll be interested to see how your no sugar experiment goes!

  • 3. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  March 15, 2010 at 2:41 pm

    I read the Clean book, and embarked on my own version of it a few months ago! (I couldn’t justify spending $350 on his kit either!) I just made fresh vegetable juice or green smoothies for my breakfast and dinner instead of using his powders, which felt healthier anyway! I made it 8 days, but I really missed “eating” my meals! I think cutting back on what you think your trigger foods is a better idea, and has a better chance of sticking!

  • 4. Catherine  |  March 16, 2010 at 4:08 pm

    I’m sort of thinking of trying to do my own version of the Cleam Program just subbing in homemade smoothies for lunch and dinner, but I think I’d cap it off at a week because I don’t want to get bored and then completely fall off the wagon and wreck whatever nutritional progress I’ve made.

  • 5. ZAREMA  |  March 19, 2010 at 8:56 am

    Thanks the author for article. The main thing do not forget about users, and continue in the same spirit.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

