I.C.E., I.C.E. Baby!

March 8, 2010 at 8:24 am 5 comments

Today I have my third class at the Institute for Culinary Education (I.C.E.) and I am crazy excited!  These classes were a gift from the fiance and have seriously been the most amazing experience of my life so far.  I always knew I wanted to be a chef, but in college the  instability of working in a restaurant vs. the security of a corporate position caused me to dash any dreams I had about going to culinary school.  Taking this class doesn’t mean I’m going to leave my job, but it did make me realize that just because I don’t get paid to be a chef, doesn’t mean I still can’t get that everyday enjoyment of preparing great tasting food.  Plus my current job has pretty great hours, so I’m always out in time to make myself a nice dinner and prepare something for lunch the next day.

Anyway, before I wax poetic on my life, I did promise you I’d show you how to make my new favorite breakfast drink.  I call it the Popeye Special because it’s jam packed with tons and tons of spinach!

Popeye Special (makes about 2.5 cups)

  • 1 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1/4 c. Strawberries
  • 1/4 c. Papaya chunks
  • 1/4 c. cantaloupe chunks
  • 1 tsp Maca powder
  • 10 drops Clear Stevia by NuNaturals

I simply throw everything in the Vita Mix and blend until completely smooth and creamy.  If you want it frostier and cooler you could throw in some ice cubes too.  Can you think of any better way to start off your day??  🙂  

Well, I’m off to create some kitchen masterpieces!  See ya later chickadees.

Entry filed under: breakfast, Drinks, Recipes. Tags: .

Life is SWEET. Gimme comfort

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. glidingcalm  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Those classes sound like so much fun!! What a great gift from the guy, and I am so happy they are bringing you so much joy!! That sounds just fabulous!!!

    Popeye Special sounds mighty good as well!! I am happy to be back home and with access to a blender/kitchen!! 😀

    Hope you have a wonderful week, Catherine!!!

  • 2. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin'  |  March 8, 2010 at 11:42 am

    How fun! I’ve always wanted to take some culinary classes, too! What a sweet gift. 🙂 There were always a million things I thought I wanted to do as a career, too, so it’s nice to be able to continue them as a hobby while keeping my “real” job. You never know where it might take you later! If nothing else, it sounds like you’re going to have some awesome meals!!

    Your Popeye Special looks tasty! Love the name!

  • 3. masteringpublichealth  |  March 8, 2010 at 7:48 pm

    Hey! Green smoothies seem to be everywhere. The classes sound nice too. Oh, heck out the promo/freebie code I’m hosting on my blog — I’m just tryin’ to spread the word because it’s such a sweet deal. 🙂 Look forward to reading more of your blog.

  • 4. NYCRunnerGirl  |  March 9, 2010 at 2:30 pm

    Those classes sound great! What a great gift from your fiance. Maybe we’ll see some of the creations on the blog?

    Hehe, love the popeye special 🙂

  • 5. Catherine  |  March 9, 2010 at 8:03 pm

    The classes were a pretty sweet gift – and it threw me off the trail of the proposal that came shortly after 😉 I’ll bring my camera to class next Monday to take some pics for you guys if you’re interested.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

