Ginger-Miso Stir Fry: Take 1

March 3, 2010 at 9:07 pm 1 comment

After 2 failed attempts that I decided not to post out of sheer embarrassment, I finally made a pretty good Ginger Miso Stir-Fry tonight!  Ok, it’s not as good as the Candle Cafe version, but it’s getting there.  Just a few more tweaks… I think I should probably order some Candle Cafe tomorrow to do *ahem* “research”.  

I’m not sure if you understand what an important event this is for me… I’m kinda obsessed with this dish. 😀  I’m really happy I made the effort to try again tonight.  After an 8 mile run I was a bit hungry and more interested in getting food fast than trying out a new recipe, but I really wanted to get this recipe down.   Ginger – Miso Sauce (makes approx 3/4 cup)

  • 1/3 c. vegan “chicken” broth
  • 3 tbsp white miso
  • 2 tbsp minced, fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp mirin
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp cornstarch + 1/4 cup cold water

I combined the first 5 ingredients in my Vita Mix Vinny until it was perfectly smooth.  Next I added the cornstarch slurry and heated it in a pan to thicken and then set it aside.  Then I threw some sliced veggies into a frying pan with a little water (I used red cabbage, red peppers, onion, broccoli and carrots) and kind of let them steam for a bit.  Meanwhile I baked a few cubes of mori-nu silken tofu in the oven at 375.  Once the veggies started to heat up I added in some of the Miso-Ginger Sauce and turned the heat up to med-high and cooked until the veggies were cooked through.  I put the veggies on a plate with the baked tofu on top and added some cooked brown rice to the hot pan along with more Ginger-Miso sauce and let it heat up thoroughly.  That’s it!

The recipe was taken from Eating Well with a few changes, and like I said I would make ever more changes next time.  I need to tone down the miso flavor somehow… definitely more ginger next time, and maybe something else for extra flavor depth.  Tahini perhaps??  Now off to watch the 2-hour Law & Order SVU special!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

My morning cookie Life is SWEET.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. luckytastebuds  |  March 5, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Oh my goodness that stir fry looks awesome!!! I love the online recipes on Eating well!!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

