My morning cookie

February 26, 2010 at 8:26 am 6 comments

Who doesn’t like to start the day off right with a bog ol’ cookie? 😉  Breakfast has never tasted so sinful.  I made an Cherry-Oat version of the ever popular breakfast cookie.  I tweaked the recipe a little because I was anticipating a turbo-packed day today… although the weather may have changed that…  Big day at work, spin class at noon (my instructor Matthew kills me and I love it!), and then Yoga Spa after work.  I’ve never gone to Yoga Spa, but it sounds pretty fab… 2 hour yoga class at Equinox done in candlelight with a focus on meditation and relaxation – sign me up!

Cherry-Oat Breakfast Cookie (makes 1 large cookie)

  • 1/2 banana
  • 1 tsp maca powder
  • 1/3 c. rolled oats
  • 2 Tbsp almond milk (unsweetened)
  • 1 tsp NuNaturals Stevia baking blend
  • 1 tsp vanilla whey protein (I used BioChem)
  • 9 dried tart cherries
  • pinch cinnamon
  • pinch cloves

Mash up the banana with the maca, almond milk, Stevia, whey protein and rolled oats.  Spread everything out onto a small plate and dot the tart cherries into the cookie “dough”, sprinkle with spices and set in the fridge overnight.  Easy, no?

I am loving the addition to maca powder to my smoothies and breakfast cookies on my really busy days.  I’m going to have to experiment a bit with it because it might be a good pre-marathon fuel addition.  Hmmm just got an email that the NY office is closed for the day – guess it won’t be so busy after all!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Recipes.

Ginger Miso Stir-fry! Ginger-Miso Stir Fry: Take 1

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jolene (www.everydayfoodie.ca)  |  February 26, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Interesting recipe! It sounds really good!!

  • 2. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 26, 2010 at 6:04 pm

    mmm that sounds good!

    what does maca taste like?

  • 3. glidingcalm  |  February 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    mmmmmmmm breakfast cookies!!! yumo!! i screw them up everytime i make them! i have tried maca powder once……i think!? wait, maybe it was like green algae powder. BLAH! i duno…but yes, like musingsofthegranolagirl- what does it taste like?

    BioChem , eh? im looking for protein powder suggestions……..

    HAPPY WEEKEND LOVEY!

  • 4. Catherine  |  February 28, 2010 at 2:19 pm

    The fiance got a hemp & whey vanilla protein powder from BioChem that I have been stealthly sneaking into my smoothies and breakfast cookies. I like the flavor – not super chalky like lots of powder and the vanilla flavor is trey good in my opinion. Hmm maca has a smoky, malty kind of flavor. Personally I don’t like it by itself, but it adds kind of an earthy flavor and gives me tooons of energy!

  • 5. NYCRunnerGirl  |  February 28, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    I am convinced that I am the only person in this city who had to work on Friday! I hope you enjoyed the nice long weekend 🙂

  • 6. Catherine  |  March 1, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Hah I actually ended up going into my office even though it was technically closed. I tried to not work at least!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

