Lean, Mean & Green

February 18, 2010 at 8:30 pm 4 comments

Well, not mean. 😉  This morning I had a delectable smoothie that totally energized my morning after an invigorating Warrior Yoga session at the gym.  I call it my Green Goddess Smoothie.

Green Goddess Smoothie (1 serving)

  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 large leaf romaine lettuce
  • 1/3 cup frozen papaya chunks
  • 3 sections grapefruit
  • 3 sections blood orange
  • 1/2 section lime
  • 1/4 tsp NuNaturals stevia powder
  • 1/2 tsp fresh ginger
  • 1 tbsp frozen banana slices

I know it looks suspect, but it was actually really yummy!!  Good thing I started out my morning so strong because when I got into work I was hit with a massive crisis that I had to take care of ASAP.  Eeek!  I actually managed to sort everything out and avoid getting stressed – a huge deal for me!!!  Now I remember why I used to be such a huge fan of yoga.

I somehow felt energized enough to hit the gym and knock out a little over a 1/2 mile of swimming (25 laps in a 25 meter pool).  Afterwards though I was dying for some sustenance!!  I had the rest of my butternut squash fries, but won’t bore you with the pics 😉  I also had what may become a new staple dish for me… Vegan Sausage & Peppers!!  The recipe is found here.  The only thing I did differently this time was add 1 Tbsp tomato paste with some water to create a thin sauce.

For those of you that were wondering about homemade seitan, I actually used some Seitan Sausages that I made here.  They’re so good and the fennel seeds adds such a great flavor reminiscent of sweet Italian sausages.  Well I’m off to relax & wait for The Office to start!  Do any of you guys have any good faux meat recipes that you’d care to share??

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Recipes. Tags: .

The Veggie Post This little Piggy went to the market…

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. NYCRunnerGirl  |  February 18, 2010 at 9:58 pm

    I don’t really know much about faux meat, but I’m interested to see what people say here.

    I’ve also never tried a green smoothie or “green monster.” What are your suggestions for a newbie?

  • 2. runjess  |  February 19, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    Thanks for sharing the seitan sausages recipe. I’m not vegetarian, but I eat quite a few vegetarian meals. One thing I like is that you don’t have to worry about meat spoiling. Beans and tofu stick around a lot longer.

  • 3. Lara (Thinspired)  |  February 19, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    I’ve never thought to put romaine in a green smoothie–what a great idea! Wow, I’m surprised it got so green with just one large leaf! That is is awesome.

    Despite seeing it on so many blogs, I still haven’t tried seitan. I guess it makes me a little nervous for some reason! But your recipe looks delicious–maybe I need to break down and try it 🙂

  • 4. musingsofthegranolagirl  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    That smoothie looks delicious! I’ve never made my own green monster but have a soft spot for the Naked Green Machine juice.. yum!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

