Rum-aritas!

February 10, 2010 at 10:56 am 3 comments

What else is a Vita Mix good for??  Frozen cocktails of course!!  The fiancé and I set out to make margaritas the other night, yet we were missing one minor ingredient – tequila.  Oops.  No worries, I rummaged about my pantry and decided that light Jamaican rum was just as good a substitute as any… and so was born the Rum-aritas!

Basically I took the normal components to a margarita and added in rum and agave nectar instead of the tequila and Grand Marnier.  I used a fresh orange, lime, lemon and ice for the fruity component – delicious!  Add the rum, fruit and agave nectar to the Vita Mix, whirl around for about 30 seconds and voila!

Rum-arita (makes 1 drink)

  • 1 oz. light rum (2 tbsp)
  • 1/2-1 tsp agave nectar, depending on how sweet you like things
  • 1/2 cup mix of orange, lime and lemon sections (I used mostly oranges)
  • 4 ice cubes

Just add the ingredients into the Vita Mix in the order listed and enjoy!!  You could rum lime around the rip and dip the glass in sugar if you like, but I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, so it was perfect as is.  😀

I’m working from home today because there’s a huge blizzard in NYC today.  Yay snow!!!  Someone is enjoying his nap during the blizzardy, blustery day…

Be looking for a future post showing more whirled Vita Mix creations I’ve been enjoying recently… until then, have a great day!  I almost forgot… don’t forget to stop by Katie’s blog to enter the NuNaturals giveaway!  I can’t call myself Stevia ‘n Spice if I didn’t promote the stuff! 😉  NuNaturals is actually my favorite brand of stevia by far – no weird aftertaste and just overall great flavor.  The powder dissolves easily and the drops (esp. the vanilla flavor) are out of this world.

Entry filed under: Drinks, Recipes. Tags: .

That’s amore! Give it a whirl!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. biz319  |  February 10, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Awesome way to use a VitaMix – alcohol drinks!

    Hang in there with the snow . . .I hate this time of year – at this point I am just ready to be done with winter and move onto spring!

  • 2. catms916  |  February 10, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    It’s almost healthy too – minus the rum 😉 Ugh I know, snow is beautiful, but green grass and flowers are muuch better!

  • 3. Antonia  |  February 11, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    That sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

