That’s amore!

February 8, 2010 at 9:15 pm 6 comments

You know how the song goes… when the moon hits your eyes like a big-a pizza pie, that’s amore!  Man did I love my dinner tonight.  Homemade pizza with seitan sausages, peppers, onions, tomatoes and olives – yes, please!  I used Mark Bittman’s recipe for pizza dough from How to Cook Everything Vegetarian, well, almost.  I subbed in white-wheat flour and halved the recipe, but almost the same!

The pizza dough was just a mix of 1.5 cups white wheat flour, 1 tsp sea salt, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tsp active yeast and 1/2 cup water.  Combine in the food processor, roll into a ball and put in an oiled dish covered with plastic wrap; pop in the fridge for 6-8 hours and you’re all set.  I made the dough before work this morning and then rolled it out and added toppings after my run this evening.

I chopped up two de-seeded plum tomatoes along with a minced clove of garlic, added in some pizza seasonings, salt+ pepper and used it as the fresh sauce.  For the toppings I used one of my homemade seitan sausages, 1/4 of a sliced bell pepper, a few sliced black olives, and some sliced onions.

I ate the first couple pieces with some red pepper flakes…

…and another two with some Vegan Cheese sauce!!  Recipe below – enjoy chickadees!

Vegan Cheese Sauce (makes 1.25 cups) — Modified from Bryanna’s Vegan Feast

  • ½ c. water
  • 1/3 c. + 2 tsp cooked brown rice
  • ¼ medium carrot, diced
  • ¼ medium onion, diced
  • ¼ c. extra-firm silken Mori-Nu tofu
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 4 tbsp nutritional yeast flakes
  • 1 ½ tsp lemon juice
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 pinch garlic powder

Simmer the cooked rice, carrot and onion in a small saucepan with the water, covered, for about 10 minutes, or until the carrot is tender.    Add to the Vita Mix with the remaining ingredients.  Blend until VERY smooth.  Serve immediately or refrigerate, covered for up to a week.  (Reheat over gentle heat.)

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, Side Dishes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , , .

Go see The Cove!! Rum-aritas!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ally (Exercise and Pies)  |  February 8, 2010 at 10:24 pm

    oh my, that looks fantastic!

    I have WW pizza crust on my list of meals to make… i think i’m going to use your recipe!

  • 2. Sara @ Activegal  |  February 8, 2010 at 11:11 pm

    That looks GREAT!! I was going to go out and buy some pizza crust but I may just use your recipe! It looks delicious!

  • 3. Catherine  |  February 9, 2010 at 11:51 am

    I absolutely recommend it! I used King Arthur Flour’s white-wheat flour, which is why the crust didn’t look too dark. It tasted great and not too heavy at all 🙂

  • 4. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin  |  February 9, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    That vegan cheese sauce sounds great! I’ll have to try it soon! Thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  • 5. runjess  |  February 10, 2010 at 1:03 pm

    I have a great pizza dough recipe, but I need to try Bittman’s. I would also sub white whole wheat. Looks great!

  • 6. Gelareh @ Nutritious Foodie  |  February 12, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    The vegan cheese sounds and looks good

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

