Roasted breakfast of champions

January 30, 2010 at 4:27 pm 2 comments

I got back from my run this morning and had the most amazing present waiting for me in the oven.  Slow roasted butternut squash filled with warm chopped apples & cinnamon.  It was actually perfect timing… before I left I set the oven at 300 and placed these babies in the oven and by the time I was back and showered they were perfect.  Just look at those babies…

Roast Squash w/Apples:

  • 1/2 butternut squash (lower half, seeds removed)
  • 1 macintosh apple
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch cloves
  • pinch nutmeg
  • 2 tsp agave nectar
  • 2 tbsp water

Cut the round, bottom section of a butternut squash in half.  Remove the seeds (reserve the seeds for roasting later!) and set in a rimmed baking dish.  Chop the apple and divide between each squash half, pouring it into the cavity.  Sprinkle in spices and stir to combine and then drizzle on 1 tsp agave nectar per 1/2.  Pour in 1 tbsp (or more to each half to ensure that the apples stay moistened.  Tent with a piece of aluminum foil on top to prevent drying out if you’re going to cook it for a while like I did.  You could cook this at about 375 for 45-60 min, depending on the size of your squash, but I kept mine at 300 and then went for my run.  When I came back I removed the foil to dry up the excess water and then got in the shower.  By the time I came out it was roasted and delicious!!

This was seriously such an amazing breakfast… or brunch, whatever you want to call it.  On my long run days I tend to just eat at a steady pace all day.  Just one of the many perks of training for a marathon 😉  Although I have to be totally honest – over 10 miles in 11 degree weather is maybe not the most relaxing activity in the world.

I had some homemade pudding to top of my meal… soo good!  I’m glad I finally bought agar agar.  Agar + almond milk = love.  I made two versions of the pudding, one with cocoa powder and another with vanilla extract and enjoyed them nestled in a wine glass.  It’s so simple too!  I just followed CCV’s agar pudding recipe…

Cocoa Pudding (makes 2 servings)

  • 1 1/3 c. almond milk
  • 2 tsp agar flakes
  • pinch salt
  • 2 heaping tsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp agave nectar

Just bring the mixture slowly to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring to make sure the agar flakes dissolve, and then simmer about 5-7 more minutes until thickened.  Let set in the fridge for a little while and then blend and enjoy!  For the vanilla version I simply omitted the cocoa powder and added vanilla extract.

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dessert, Recipes, Side Dishes. Tags: , .

Tongue Thai’d! A bountiful feast

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

