Tongue Thai’d!

January 28, 2010 at 8:15 pm 4 comments

Tonight I finally got out of my soup & fries rut and made up a new recipe.  I’m not totally sure if this is actually Thai, but it sorta reminded me of a non-greasy Pad Thai.  I call it “Thai-Fry” because it’s essential a noodle dish and a stir-fry mixed all together.

Thai-Fry:

  • 1 package Shirataki noodles
  • 2 c. mixed frozen veggies (I used Seapoint Farms mix)
  • 1/3 c. chopped cauliflower
  • 1 tsp crunchy PB (I used Whole Foods brand)
  • 8 shelled peanuts, chopped
  • 2 Tbsp soy sauce
  • ½ tsp powdered ginger (or use fresh!)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced(1/4 tsp), garlic
  • 1 tsp cornstarch, mixed into 1/3 c. water

Mix together the PB, chopped peanuts, soy sauce, ginger, garlic, and cornstarch mix in a cup and set aside to be used as a sauce.  Stir-fry veggies with a little sautéing liquid (oil/water/soy sauce).  Next add the shirataki noodles to the pan and pour in the sauce.  Sauté until sauce has thickened and noodles are heated through.  Dump the whole mixture onto a plate and pull out the chopsticks!! 😉

Entry filed under: Dessert, Recipes. Tags: , .

A paler version of earlier… Roasted breakfast of champions

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. runjess  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    I make stuff like that a lot. Do you like the shirataki noodles?

  • 2. Sara @ Activegal  |  January 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    That looks great! I may have to try that recipe out sometime soon! Maybe this weekend!

  • 3. oatsnmoney  |  January 29, 2010 at 12:12 am

    I have been looking all over my grocery stores for shirataki noodles, do you know of any chains that sell them, I am a little skeptical to order them online

  • 4. Catherine  |  January 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm

    Jess: To be honest, I’m not normally a big noodle person at all because I think noodles/spaghetti, etc is boring tasting and I wasn’t brought up eating it. That being said I like the chewy texture of the shirataki noodles. They also have the added pluss that when you sautee them in a sauce such as my Thai-peanut sauce that I used, they virtually soak up the juices and it changes the color of the noodles.

    Oatsnmoney: I get mine usually at an Asian grocery near me, but I’ve also gotten them in Food Emporium, Whole Foods and D’Agostino. I live in NYC though and I feel like they might be a little more exotic in their regular offerings in grocery stores…

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

