A paler version of earlier…

January 27, 2010 at 8:45 pm Leave a comment

I apologize for the super uninventive looking food on the blog lately… I’ve been busy at work and bust training (and trying to build up my leg/knee muscles) so the creativity has become a touch lost.  Luckily for me though it lacks nothing in the realm of flavor!!

I started off the day with a Vita Mix smoothie…. I call it “Harvest Fruit Smoothie“.  I froze some pumpkin puree spiced with cloves, cinnamon, nutmeg and a touch of agave nectar into an ice cube tray a couple of days ago, so I threw two pumpkin-cubes into the vitamix along with 1/3 cup frozen bananas, 1/3 frozen macintosh apple slices and 1 cup cold water.  The delectable results are below…

I got in a fantastic evening run tonight and warmed myself up for a very familiar looking meal… just a paler version. 🙂

Cauliflower Soup and Butternut Squash Fries!  For the soup I just took about 1/2 a head of cauliflower, 1 clove garlic, a pinch of Herbs de Provence, 1/4 tsp thyme, salt & pepper to taste, and some “Better than Bullion – Veggie Flavor”.  I added just enough water to cover and cooked until fork tender.  Then I added 2 Tbsp silken tofu and pureed the whole mixture in the Vita Mix until super smooth and creamy.

I just realized I never posted the recipe for Butternut Squash Fries… oops!  Preheat the oven to 425.  Then basically I peel and cut the squash into sticks and throw them on a pan lightly sprayed with oil.  I shake some salt and pepper over the fries, sometimes some chili powder and sometimes some paprika and bake about 35-40 minutes, stopping to flip around the fries in the middle to ensure even cooking and no sticking to the pan.  And voila!Song of the day: “Marching Bands of Manhattan” – Death Cab for Cutie

Gilmore Girls re-runs and a tiny little kitten on my lap – perfect end to a perfect evening. Now for some vino!! 😀

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Recipes, Side Dishes. Tags: , , .

Find your Chi Tongue Thai’d!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

