I scream, you scream…

January 24, 2010 at 4:25 pm 2 comments

Big news… I finally got a Vita Mix 5200 and have to say – it’s pretty amazing.  I had an awesome pilates session at Equinox this morning, (which I had never tried before and was really pleasantly surprised) and came back famished.  I made a quick lunch, but was really just eager to get to dessert. 🙂  What did I make?

Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream!!  Yup, that’s right… Ben & Jerry’s eat your heart out.  Dairy-free and insanely delicious.  I have been waiting so long for the opportunity to make Vita Mix ice cream after seeing it on other blogs and was so psyched to try out my recipe.  I sorta followed the recipe in the Vita Mix cookbook for “Nut Freeze” with a few tweaks.

Peanut Butter Cup Ice Cream: (makes about 2.5-3 cups)

  • 3/4 cup roasted peanuts, shelled
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (I used unsweetened Almond Breeze)
  • 2 tbsp agave nectar, or more to taste
  • 3 cups ice cubes
  • 2 dark chocolate truffles, chopped (I made truffles over xmas so I used some from my freezer – you could use any chopped chocolate for this though)

Add the peanuts, agave nectar and almond milk into the Vita Mix and blend on Level 1 for about 30 seconds.  Next add the ice cubes (I think I would add less ice next time) and blend for about 30-60 seconds, pushing everything down into the blades.  I added the chocolate chunks afterwards by folding it in with a spatula, but I think it’s be nice to add about half to the actual ice cream towards the end of blending.  I threw it in the freezer afterwards to firm up for a little bit, but got a tad impatient so I ate it while it was still a little melty.  The fiance thought it was good, but could’ve used a bit of sweetness, although I don’t have much of a sweet tooth so it was perfect for me.  Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Dessert, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Apples+PB = love Find your Chi

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hungover  |  January 25, 2010 at 12:07 am

    Good points!

  • 2. Jess  |  January 25, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    Yum! Glad your blog is back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

