Apples+PB = love

January 23, 2010 at 9:50 am 1 comment

Peanut, peanut butter (and jelly apples)…  haha I get that song in my head every time I open a jar of peanut butter.   Last night I had some time to kill before going out to dinner and since I am incapable of just sitting still and watching TV, I decided to bake.  I followed Ashley from Sweet + Natural’s recipe for PB+Apple Muffins (the 2nd version).

I am seriously in heaven.  As if the muffin itself weren’t amazing, check out the surprise your mouth gets when you bite into it!!

Here’s how it’s done… Thank you sooo much for this amazing recipe!!

PB+Apple Muffins from Sweet + Natural (makes 10 muffins)

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I used a scraped out vanilla bean bc I didn’t have any extract)
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups chopped apples
  • 1/2 cup natural peanut butter

Preheat the oven to 325*F.  Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray and set aside. In a large bowl, mix together honey, egg whites, unsweetened applesauce and vanilla extract until well blended. In a separate bowl, mix white whole wheat flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just blended. Stir in chopped apples.  Pour half of the batter into 10 muffin wells from the prepared pan.   Place a glob of peanut butter in the middle of each.  Top with remaining batter.  Bake for 25-30 minutes.

…my mommy went out for a run (see her Chi Running book hiding here?), so I figured I’d finish this post off on my own.  Have a great day guys! – Peekay

By the way… in case you haven’t stopped by Gliding Calm today, check out her awesome giveaway – Kays Naturals Cookie Bites!!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , .

Pureed Perfection I scream, you scream…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. glidingcalm  |  January 24, 2010 at 4:23 am

    🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

