C is for Cookie

December 17, 2008 at 11:46 am 15 comments

…that’s good enough for me!  Man, cookie monster was totally my favorite Sesame Street character growing up.  He would’ve been soo proud of my brekkie too.  Yup, that’s right I made the ol’ Breakfast Cookie again with some chocolate protein powder, oats, peanut butter, almond milk and banana.  Such an amazing combination!!

img_2239I know I’ve said this before, but if you haven’t tried it, you really must make it soon!!  I have a link the the recipe in my “Edibles” tab… it takes about 2 minutes of prep and then you just pop it in the fridge overnight, it honestly couldn’t get any easier!!  I also had some of this for some added protein…
img_22461

I love whipped cottage cheese soo much more than regular small or large curd cottage cheese – and the 1% version adds a nice creaminess that you just don’t get in the fat-free version.  It’s really worth the like 10 extra calories per 1/2 cup.  Seriously, you shouldn’t freak over 10 calories… that’s nothing.  I probably burn 10 calories just typing this up on my keyboard!!

I had another great run this morning – 3.5 miles!!  Nothing like beating a cold by getting your blood pumping and your heart rate up.  🙂  It was really peaceful running through the park this morning too… all of the grass had a think blanket of snow and it just made me so excited.  Winter is just not winter without snow in my opinion!  Well lovies, I must be off, but have a great morning!  Do you guys share my deep love of the snow, or is it more of an inconvenience for you??

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness.

It’s Christmas time in the city… I’m feelin’ hot hot hot!

15 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:58 am

    COOKIE!!!! Love it.

    Fabulous run, girl!!

    **Snow = beautiful but brutal to drive in.

  • 2. Erica  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Yayyy for breakfast cookie! I haven’t ever had whipped cottage cheese! Glad you got a nice run in !

  • 3. carolinebee  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:05 pm

    LOVE Snow! But what IS an inconvenience for me…is the fact that they don’t have WHIPPED CC in CA!! Boooo…haha I’m jel of your snow and whipped CC..

  • 4. Moran  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:19 pm

    Certainly do not love snow as much as I did in my younger years but I agree with you, its beautiful!
    Question: just how cold was it and what did you wear? because I am planning on running out in about a week and it will be cold

  • 5. Amelia  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    I’m in NYC as well and I was soo excited for the snow too! I’m orginally from TN so I’m in love with the idea of actually getting snow in the winter. My only complaint is that it took so long to get snow here this winter!
    Love the blog!

  • 6. sweetandnatural  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    I love snow! But the light and fluffy kind, not the wet and rainy kind.

  • 7. bobbi  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    well we have to go to the mountains to get it, an hour drive. But I LOVE IT! I don’t think I would want to live in the snow though!

  • 8. Sagan  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:49 pm

    I like snow, its the cold I don’t like!

    How do you normally make the breakfast cookie? Do you microwave it or anything?

  • 9. Sharon  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    Wow, great job on the run!!!

  • 10. catms916  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:51 pm

    Carolinebee Hah yeah, whipped CC is kind of amazing – sucks they don’t have it there! Try putting some in a blender or food processor and pulsing once or twice – you’d probably get a similar texture.

  • 11. catms916  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:54 pm

    Moran It was 35 degrees out, which is sort of on the warmer side for where I live. I just wore an under armour mock neck l/s shirt tucked into under armour running spandex, a knit beenie hat, and some really light cotton gloves. The under armour is waaay warmer than it looks! Although it sorta looks like i’m running in body spandex.. 😉

  • 12. catms916  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    sweetandnatural Hah true, but it was a start… I’m hoping it’s at least fluffy in VT because I’m going snow boarding for a week after Christmas!

  • 13. ksgoodeats  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    I LOVE the snow as long as I don’t have to drive in it 🙂

    The breakfast cookie looks delish as usual and fat free CC just isn’t worth the time!

  • 14. catms916  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    SaganI have a link in the Edibles section, but I just followed The Fitnessista’s directions really. 1/3-1/2 c. oats, 1/2 big banana (mashed), about 1 tbsp peanut butter, 1 small scoop protein powder (maybe 1 tbsp), and a splash of milk (maybe 1 tbsp). Just mix it all together and then flatten out on a plate and pop in the fridge overnight and in the morning eat with a fork! If you’re banana isn’t ripe a trick i use is popping it in the microwave for a minute to soften up and then add in the rest of the ingredients.

  • 15. Heather Eats Almond Butter  |  December 17, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    Love the snow, but we don’t get much in Nashville. Love whipped cottage cheese as well, but I can’t find it in any local stores. I’ve been making my own by using my hand blender. Whips up the cottage cheese quite nicely. I’m with ya – gives it a much better consistency.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

