It’s Christmas time in the city…

December 16, 2008 at 9:47 pm 11 comments

It’s officially winter in the city!!  After all my whining and complaining I got my snow!!!  Not just flurries, full on heavy snow!  Ok, so it wasn’t exactly sticking to the ground, but hey it’s good enough for me.  🙂

After a little Christmas shopping when I was done with my work I decided the best thing to warm me up after walking in the snow was a comforting bowl of soup.  I felt that I should use the BSI tonight so I made Carrot-Artichoke Soup.   I always get this kind of soup for lunch at Elixir and last time I was there I was able to peek at some of the ingredients so I tried to recreate it tonight.img_2279

Carrot-Artichoke Soup:

  • 3 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 cup canned artichokes
  • 1.5 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • dash black pepper

I pureed the soup with my immersion blender that my sister got me.  Love it M!!  Ok, so anyway… in the spirit of full disclosure the soup wasn’t as amazing as I had hoped.  I think it’s because I didn’t cook it for long enough because the carrot was still a little grainy even though it was pureed.  I also think it could’ve used the addition of an onion to round out the flavors.  That being said it was still very good and I am absolutely looking forward to having the leftovers. 😉  img_2282

img_2283I also had a big salad with my red leaf lettuce… Yeah I know, this is kind of a weak dinner post, but this evening before dinner I had a few handfuls of roasted nuts and that turned out to be a few handfuls too many.  I feel like I have a pile of rocks in my stomach!  Ugh! 👿

Well, I have some 90210 reruns to watch so I’m gonna go.  G’night bloggies!!  Can’t wait to see your BSI submissions!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

It’s beginning to look alot like Christmas! C is for Cookie

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 16, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    Loving the BSI recipes you’re creating today!! 😀

    Feel 100% better soon!!

  • 2. Erica  |  December 16, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    owwwwwwwwwww that soup looks awesome! My husband loves artichokes! Putting it on my list of things to try once I have my emulsion blender out of storage!

  • 3. Sharon  |  December 16, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Wow, great BSI!!! 😉

  • 4. Megan  |  December 16, 2008 at 11:27 pm

    it is quite possible that you have had one of the yummiest food days I have ever seen! 🙂

  • 5. Heather Eats Almond Butter  |  December 17, 2008 at 12:37 am

    Nuts – so good, but so dangerous!

  • 6. Melissa S.  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:25 am

    feel better w/ the tummy babe; i feel the same way. boo. hugs.

    great BSI!

  • 7. Erin  |  December 17, 2008 at 8:28 am

    That looks great!

  • 8. ksgoodeats  |  December 17, 2008 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for the recipe! It combines two of my favs!!

  • 9. Krista  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:14 am

    Carrots and artichokes sound like a great pair!

  • 10. runjess  |  December 17, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Another carrot recipe!
    My BSI entry is up: http://seejessrun.wordpress.com/2008/12/17/food-for-fuel-sauteed-carrots-with-seaweed-ginger-and-tofu/

  • 11. catms916  |  December 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    runjess Oooh that looks really good!! I like how you wrote you were “suspicious” of it… 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

