Thanksgiving Part Deux

December 15, 2008 at 11:17 pm 13 comments

I couldn’t decide what I wanted to make for dinner tonight, but when I got into Food Emporium something caught my eye that I just haad to try.  Smoked turkey legs!!  You might think that sounds kind of gross, but I absolutely love turkey legs.  They did not dissapoint.  😉  What goes with turkey??  Cranberry Chutney of course!!  I made a small batch of the Cranberry Chutney I cooked up for Thanksgiving. img_2264

On the side I made some Butternut Squash Fries a la The Fitnessista.  These were sooo good!  Even the bf loved them and he’s hard to please (and quick to dismiss any odd vegetable dish).  Just some olive oil, salt + pepper baked at 425 for about 40 minutes – flipped it a few times throughout.  Thanks for another great recipe Gina!img_2263

My carrot concoction of the evening?  Green salad topped with a Carrot-Ginger Dressing.  Carrot-Ginger dressing is usually served over green salads at sushi restaurants and is one of my favorite parts of going there to eat (aside form the fish).  I tried to find a good recipe, but none seemed right so I came up with my own.img_2261

Carrot-Ginger Dressing:

  • 3 medium carrots, chopped
  • 1.5 tbsp fresh ginger, chopped
  • 1 tsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice wine vinegar
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • dash salt

Put all the ingredients in a food processor and chop until totally pureed.  I poured it over some red leaf lettuce and chopped tomatoes.  Just like in the restaurants!!  I had a really packed night of cleaning, etc. but afterwards I had a nice bowl of popcorn…  Ok, g’night all!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: , .

Uneventful Eats… Crunchy Munchy Oaties

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sweetandnatural  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:33 pm

    Way to get the BSI rolling!

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:36 pm

    Cranberry Chutney + butternut squash fries + BSI salad = delish!!

  • 3. Sharon  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    Carrot ginger dressing sounds great – thanks for sharing! And mm, everything looks amazing! Great BSI!

  • 4. Melissa S.  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:54 pm

    interesting dressing with the carrots! sounds wonderful!

  • 5. Heather Eats Almond Butter  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:58 pm

    Glad your salad dressing turned out. I love salad dressings with an Asian flair. Love turkey legs as well – I get them at football games. Totally adds to the experience 🙂

  • 6. Maggie  |  December 16, 2008 at 12:00 am

    I never knew that was a carrot dressing!!! No wonder I could never replicate it. Thanks 🙂

  • […] SimpleGirl wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptCarrot-Ginger dressing is usually served over green salads at sushi restaurants and is one of my favorite parts of going there to eat (aside form the fish). I tried to find a good recipe, but none seemed right so I came up with my own. … […]

  • 8. carolinebee  |  December 16, 2008 at 2:35 am

    haha that turkey leg is AWESOME…it totally makes me think of a renaissance fair, I’ve never been but from like- Family Guy or something…:D

  • 9. Erica  |  December 16, 2008 at 7:17 am

    Yayyyyyy for another thanksgiving type dinner! I miss it already and can’t wait until next year!

  • 10. ksgoodeats  |  December 16, 2008 at 9:41 am

    NICE dressing! Love the squash fries too 🙂

  • 11. catms916  |  December 16, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    carolinebee hah me neither, but I’ve totally seen that episode!

  • 12. runjess  |  December 16, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    That’s a very creative salad dressing!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 13. Sagan  |  December 16, 2008 at 5:56 pm

    Yumyumyumyum.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

