BSI – week 16

December 15, 2008 at 10:43 am 24 comments

I feel soo honored to be hosting this week’s BSI!!  Thanks Ashley!  If you guys haven’t checked out the lovely peppermint treats that everyone cooked up, stop by Sweet & Natural.  I know you’re eager to get cooking, but first here’s a recap of the past BSI’s:

Week 15: Ashley @ Sweet & NaturalPeppermint

Week 14: Andrea @ bella eats [and runs]Ginger

Week 13: Amy @ Coffee Talk – Walnuts

Week 12: Lindsay @ For the Love of Oats – Pumpkin

Week 11: Melissa @ Trying to Heal – Sweet Potatoes

Week 10: Meghann @ The Inner Workings of a College Graduate – Eggplant

Week 9: Erica @ Itzy’s Kitchen – Pears

Week 8: Gina @ The Fitnessista – Cranberries

Week 7: Shannon @ Tri to Cook – Lentils

Week 6: Sabrina @ Rhodey Girl Tests – Polenta

Week 5: Jenn @ eatingbender – Butternut Squash

Week 4: Andrea & Erin @ Care to Eat – Apples

Week 3: Rose @ On a Lobster Placemat – Mushrooms

Week 2: Heather @ Hangry Pants – Tomatoes

Week 1: Christie @ Sportsnutritionliving – Quinoa

And the BSI for Week 16 is…

CARROTS!!

carrots1

Why did I choose carrots??  Well, not only are they one of my favorite foods to snack on, they also happen to be packed with health benefits.  They’re listed as one of the World’s Healthiest Foods!  Just check out all the benefits of eating carrots:

  • Helps protect vision, particularly night vision
  • Beneficial to blood sugar regulation
  • Reduces the risk of heart disease
  • Promotes colon health
  • Promotes lung health
  • An excellent source of vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin K, dietary fiber and potassium

The Rules:

 

1. Make a unique edible creation out of Carrots.  Sweet, savory… there are no rules here, just make sure it’s original!

 

2. Link back to my blog when you post your recipe on yours.  Let me know it’s up by e-mailing me at cmsaur16@gmail.com or leaving a comment on one of my posts.  If you don’t have a blog, no worries!  You still count.  Just shoot me an e-mail with your recipe. 

 

3. Please submit your recipe by Sunday, December 21 @ 7:00 PM EST.  Winners will be announced Monday morning!!

 

Ok guys, start brainstorming!!  I’ll be back later today with a recap of my eats from over the weekend and a carroty creation to start off the BSI contest with a bang.  😉

 

Entry filed under: thoughts. Tags: , .

Nachos por favor Uneventful Eats…

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 15, 2008 at 10:58 am

    I love carrots!! Nice choice 🙂

    Happy Monday!!

  • 2. Megan  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:10 am

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with, I have a really hard time knowing what to do with carrots besides eating them raw and putting them in soups.

    & yay for all the health benefits!

  • 3. Krista  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:37 am

    Carrots! Great pick!!

  • 4. runjess  |  December 15, 2008 at 11:59 am

    I eat carrots almost everyday, but they’re always just in plain carrot form. This will take some thinking…good ingredient!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 5. carolinebee  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    WOO carrots are awesome…Very multi-functional too 😀

  • 6. ttfn300  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    ooh, i’ll have to get thinking…

  • 7. Sharon  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    Carrots? That’s awesome!!

  • 8. Erica  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:20 pm

    Great pic!

  • 9. bobbi  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    YES finally something I KNOW how to cook with!!! lol…I am so in!

  • 10. eatingbender  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Ooh nice! I’ll have to get creative – now that I’m home, I have no excuse not to make something 😉

  • 11. sweetandnatural  |  December 15, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    I always just eat carrots raw – plain or with hummus – so I’m in need for new ideas! Good choice!

  • 12. ksgoodeats  |  December 15, 2008 at 1:19 pm

    LOVE carrots! Can’t wait to see what everyone makes 🙂

  • 13. HangryPants  |  December 15, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Mmmm carrots! I already have one submission (something I made a month or so ago) and I will definitely think of something else!

    Great pick. 😀

  • 14. catms916  |  December 15, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    sweetandnatural That’s what I think most people do with their carrots, which is why I wanted to challenge myself to use them in a new way.

  • 15. Rose  |  December 15, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    Good choice!

  • 16. biz319  |  December 15, 2008 at 2:36 pm

    This will be an interesting week! Can’t wait to see what everyone comes up with!

  • 17. Sagan  |  December 15, 2008 at 2:49 pm

    Ooh I’m so excited that you’re hosting the BSI! Carrots are a great choice. I love carrots.

    Congratulations:)

  • 18. Meghann  |  December 15, 2008 at 4:16 pm

    Yay for carrots!! I’ll be sure to come up with something good! 🙂

  • 19. Andrea  |  December 15, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    Oooohhhh fun! I’m very unimaginative with my carrots, so it will be fun to come up with something new!!!

  • 20. Erin  |  December 16, 2008 at 8:37 am

    OOh I can’t wait to see what people come up with!

  • 21. She Says: Only in Rhode Island | Hangry Pants  |  December 16, 2008 at 11:43 am

    […] Blogger Secret Ingredient this week is carrots. Yeah Catherine! I love carrots and eat them almost every day. If you eat the […]

  • […] variation with burdock, too.  This is going to be my Blogger Secret Ingredient (BSI) recipe.  This week’s BSI is being hosted by Catherine over at Stevia ‘n’ Spice and she chos…  They are one of my favorite […]

  • 23. MarathonVal  |  January 22, 2010 at 3:49 pm

    Aww so sorry that I left your BSI week out – I just copied and pasted the list of previous recipients since there are SO many of them by now, I swear I didnt do it on purpose 😉

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  • 24. catms916  |  January 23, 2010 at 9:07 am

    Not a problem!! I know, I was shocked at how the list has grown!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

