Celeb sighting!

December 12, 2008 at 10:54 am 18 comments

Oh my good lord… the Plaza Hotel is ridiculous.  It looks like King Midas threw up inside it – seriously.  The party ended up being really fun and I ended up staying until about 11pm which was a little unplanned, but I was having such a great time hanging out with work people I totally lost track of the time.  My boss, a co-worker and I started out with martinis in The Oak Room.  For those of you who aren’t familiar with it, the Oak Room Bar was once a men’s only bar.  It’s considered one of the best hotel bars in the US and is a hot spot for celebrity sightings.  In fact, as we were leaving who walked by but Tony Bennett!  Here’s a pic in case you can’t place a face with tha name:tony-bennett-bh01

  Seriously, how cool is that??oak

Our actual party was in the main ballroom and thankfully they weren’t kidding when they said “heavy appetizers”  I was able to make a big plate of steak, potatoes and golden beat salad… otherwise I may have been in pretty bad form today.  😉  Want some pics of where I was??  Ok, I didn’t take these, but found them online, but trust me… it was even more incredible than the pictures show.  Maybe not 100% my style, but crazy cool.  First the outside view…outside-viewNow the ballroom…USA/

Imagine this with a live band onstage, most of the tables cleared out and a huge square bar in the middle… covered in holiday decorations of course.  Seriously though the walls were covered in gold and intricate moldings – insanity – so glad I got to go!!

This morning I woke up feeling a little icky, but I knew some exercise would do just the trick in curing my hangover.  It took some serious willpower, but I dragged myself down to the gym and pounded out a quick 3 miles on the treadmill on incline 3.  Then I did 2 sets of 20 reps of bicep curls, tricep extensions and tricep press, with sets of 20 crunches between each rep.  Definitely a killer workout!!  I totally dove into my Chocolate Breakfast Cookie afterwards… 🙂  I used a little extra protein powder this morning because I felt like I needed a little something extra.  img_22431

img_18211Look at Peekay – he’s totally eyeing my breakfast cookie…  and cosying up to my stuffed animal cow who I’ve had since I was 3 years old.

On the way to work I picked up a Starbucks skim latte sweetened with some Stevia from NuNaturals, and a dash of nutmeg and cinnamon.  Seriously guys, if you haven’t tried the NuNaturals brand of stevia I suggest doing so.  Zero funky aftertaste – it has a really good clean taste and is powder fine so it dissolves really quickly.  Ok, off to do some brokering!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, thoughts. Tags: , , , .

A quickie! Nachos por favor

18 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:09 am

    INCREDIBLE NIGHT YOU HAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Holy goodness. I love The Plaza, love Tony Bennett’s music… so delightful.

    Delish Breakfast cookie and cut Peekay!! 😀

    HAPPY FRIDAY, GIRL!!

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:10 am

    **CUTE Peekay – don’t hurt him, haha 😉

  • 3. Sharon  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Oh wow, so beautiful – the ballroom is so grand!!
    And Tony Bennett? N|ICE!

  • 4. Erica  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:26 am

    How cool! Glad the party was fun! That place looks just incredible! I am treating myself to a starbucks misto later and I can’t wait! How your latte was yummy 🙂

  • 5. catms916  |  December 12, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Erica Enjoy your Starbucks! Mine was so yum.

    Veggie Girl Hah Peekay’s safe as long as he keeps his paws out of my food… 😉

  • 6. Toni Jo  |  December 12, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    That ballroom, and the outside area, are completely stunning. I would feel like a princess going to a party in a place like that. Also If I walked by Tony Bennett I would probably faint.

  • 7. gina (fitnessista)  |  December 12, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    peekay! awww!
    whoo hoo for b-fast cookies!!! so good!
    the pictures are gorgeous and SO COOL you saw tony bennett. i saw him live with my grandparents a few years ago 😀
    have a wonderful friday!

  • 8. Sagan  |  December 12, 2008 at 1:30 pm

    Cute kitty! That party looks fantastic.

    Also the other day I finally tried a variation of that breakfast cookie. It was fantastic. I had two:)

  • 9. ksgoodeats  |  December 12, 2008 at 1:38 pm

    WOW! That place sounds gorgeous!!

    Gah – I need to try the bfast cookie ASAP!

  • 10. Megan  |  December 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    What a gorgeous night! Great way to start the holidays- at the Plaza 🙂
    yay for breakfast cookies 🙂
    have a great Friday!!

  • 11. catms916  |  December 12, 2008 at 4:34 pm

    Gina It was pretty cool seeing him, although not as cool as Perez Hilton!! So awesome girlie!

    Sagan There should be a bfast cookie fan club…

    ksgoodeats See above – they’re amazing!!

  • 12. runjess  |  December 12, 2008 at 4:37 pm

    That looks gorgeous!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 13. Amanda  |  December 12, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    that place looks amazing and way friggin cool to spot a celeb!

  • 14. bobbi  |  December 12, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    wow what a night I am so jelouse, hey how do you make that cookie?

  • 15. carolinebee  |  December 12, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    OMG what a glam night!! I’ve been in the Plaza like, twice while visiting and just wanted to sleep on the floor there 😀 What a fun party spot- band, bar, food! Hm, so far your job is top on my list according to their party planning….AND i love your cat!! My grandmother had only siamese cats growing up and she always told me to get one- that they are so smart and have such personality!

  • 16. Kristie  |  December 12, 2008 at 10:09 pm

    Wow, that place is incredible! SO schmancy! That seems like it would be an awesome experience. And the Tony Bennett sighting, totally cool haha

  • 17. Megan  |  December 13, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Ohh I love your kitty! I wanted a siamese cat like, my whole childhood lol. I’m pretty sure one of the Disney princesses had one, so clearly I needed one too.

    MMM to the skim latte and yummm to the breakfast cookie!

    p.s. thank you for the bloggy advice 🙂 I definitely noticed some nasty comments on other people’s blogs. What is the deal with that? The blog world, sometimes high school all over again….

  • 18. catms916  |  December 13, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    carolinebeeI know, my cat is freakishly smarter than my parent’s labrador retriever back at home.

    Megan I know it’s so retarded, but you just sorta have to rise above.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

