Cookie Frenzy

December 11, 2008 at 11:09 am 11 comments

I got everything done last night!!  Well… except for posting. 😳 I got my Sugar Cookies in the oven and I must say – they’re quite tasty!  That King Arthur Flour knows what he’s doing!!  I made 3/4 of the recipe out of regular all-purpose flour and the other 1/4 out of gluten-free flour.  I unfortunately didn’t have my pastry cookie decorating bag or any fun food coloring, but oh well…  I guess taste is the biggest component of cookies anyway.  I’m going to have to post the recipe when I get home since I’m at my desk right now, but here’s some pics to hold you over….img_2234img_2238

Dinner was a mix of things from the fridge since I’m trying to be extra frugal with my groceries this month, but it turned out being extremely yummy.  Yay, I win all around!  I made Vegetarian Spinach Tacos.

Vegetarian Spinach Tacos:img_2228

  • 1/2 large green pepper, chopped
  • 1/3 c. Tempeh, crumbled
  • 1/3 c. frozen spinach, thawed
  • 1 tbsp Texas Pete hot sauce
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • s+p to taste
  • 2 blue corn tortillas
  • 1/2 cup salsa (topping)
  • plain yogurt (topping)
  • Smashed avocados (topping) – recipe below

I sauteed the Tempeh until crispy in a frying pan and then added the peppers, spinach, hot sauce pepper flaskes and garlic and cooked until all the flavors had melded together.  Then I heated up the corn tortillas in the frying pan until warmed through.  I topped my tacos with the salsa, plain yogurt and smashed avocados.img_2232

By the way… if you like spicy foods, try this salsa.  It was wonderfully hot & spicy and extremely fresh tasting.  I love my Green Mountain Gringo salsa, but the Firehouse Salsa definitely gave it a run for it’s money!  I will definitely be buying this again..img_2230

img_2229Never had Tempeh??  You are missing out for sure!  This stuff is like tofu in the sense that it takes on the flavors of whatever it’s cooked with.  You can bake it, fry it or eat it raw.  Personally I like to marinate it and then bake it in slices or cumble it like I did here and sautee it.  But enough about the tempeh…

S.West Smashed Avocados:img_2223

  • 1 ripe hass avocado
  • 1 small clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried cilantro
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp salt (plus more to taste)

I refuse to call this guacamole, because to me guacamole means tomatoes, olive oil and peppers added in, but for the smashed avocados I mixed together all of the ingredients, but left alot of smallish chunks of guacamole for added texture.  If you’re planning on storing some of the excess avocado mixture as I did, make sure to add a little extra lemon juice or place the pit into the container as well to keep from turning brown.img_2220

After dinner I embarked upon another baking adventure!  I decided to try my hand at Ashley from Sweet and Natural’s Crumbly PB-Oat Bars.  The oat-flour mixture ended up being wayyy too sticky when I went by her directions, so I made some modifications.  In hindsight I should’ve added a little more milk and oil in addition to the extra dry good because it turns out it was more a matter of not enough dough than it was it being too sticky, but of well…  Here’s Ashley’s recipes with my modifications:

 Crumbly PB-Oat Bars (gluten-free):

  • 1/2 c. TJ’s crunchy peanut butter
  • 1/3 c. raw honey
  • 1 c. rolled oats
  • 1 c. gluten-free baking blend flour
  • 1/3 tsp cornstarch
  • 1/2 c. light brown sugar, loosely packed
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp organic skim milk

Preheat the oven to 325*F. Spray an 8 x 8-inch pan with cooking spray and set aside. In a bowl, stir together peanut butter and honey.  In a separate bowl, mix together oats, gluten-free flour, cornstarch (helps bind the dough), brown sugar, salt and baking powder.  Drizzle canola oil and milk over oat mixture.  Mix with a fork until evenly moistened and crumbly (my dough was probably over mixed because it was extremely wet and sticky).  Set aside 1/2 cup for topping and press the remaining oat mixture into the prepared pan.  Spread peanut butter mixture over the top – I microwaved it first to make this easier.  Sprinkle reserved oat mixture over peanut butter mixture.  Bake for 27 min until the top oats are golden.  img_2227img_2233

Hehe this is after my “tester” piece was removed.  These got rave reviews from the bro’s gf who is a peanut fanatic.  She didn’t notice any weird taste from the gluten-free flour or anything.  Yayy!!  Let’s hope the bf’s mom likes these.  I made them for her because she has a slight wheat allergy as well.  Thanks Ashley for a great recipe!!  Very unique…

Since I was in a bit of a baking / laundry / chores blur last night I didn’t get a chance to sit down and enjoy a nice bowl of popcorn like I usually do, but I thankfully got a few tastes of cookies and a small glass of Sauvingon Blanc. 🙂 img_2235

Mas Galletas?

That means “more cookies” for all you non-Spanish speakers. 😉 I am officially crazy.  I got up this morning to a cold, steady rain and purply blackness outside and still I laced on my running shoes and did my 3 mile loop through Central Park.  My doorman looked at me as I was heading out and said, “you know it’s raining right?” before I headed out.  He probably thinks I’m crazy… I know that I am. 😀  

Hmm… in hindsight maybe next time it’s 37 degrees and raining I should wear gloves because my hands were icicles  afterwards.  When I got back I hit the gym for a quick 20 minute lifting & stretching session and then headed upstairs for a hearty breakfast of… cookies!!  Not the cookies from last night though, this was a super fantastic Chocolate Breakfast Cookie!!  img_2239

Ms. Fitnessista you have totally gotten me hooked on these. 😀 How can you go wrong with all that awesome protein and carbs in the morning though?  I swear, I don’t understand how people don’t eat breakfast!  Pure insanity I think.  When I got to work I had a plain Chobani yogurt, but unfortunately I don’t have a picture.  Guess you’ll have to use your imaginations kiddos!

I’m supposed to go to a holiday party at the Plaza Hotel that one of the insurance carriers I work with is throwing, but people in my office are second guessing going due to the weather.  We’re all the way downtown and the party is uptown so it’d be quite a hassle to get to.  Oh well, one day I will get my “Eloise moment” in the Plaza…

Entry filed under: Dinner, Products, Recipes, Snacks/ Appetizers. Tags: , , , .

Put a cork in it! A quickie!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  December 11, 2008 at 11:26 am

    Whoa! You got TONS done last night! I can’t decide what looks the best but I think I’m going to go with the PB bars. I think Josh would like these- putting them on the to make list!

  • 2. Erin  |  December 11, 2008 at 11:28 am

    LOVIN’ THEM COOKIES!
    That’s the brand of tempeh they sell here. I must try it!

  • 3. ksgoodeats  |  December 11, 2008 at 11:46 am

    Oh my – I don’t even know where to begin! Thanks for all the great recipes 😀 Everything looks seriously delicious!

  • 4. Sharon  |  December 11, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Great recipes – thanks for sharing.

    And blue corn tortillas? Nice!

  • 5. Sagan  |  December 11, 2008 at 12:21 pm

    Oooh look at all those good eats! YUMMY. Its been far too long since I last had a taco.

  • 6. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  December 11, 2008 at 12:26 pm

    I’m so excited it’s Christmastime… I love Christmas cookies– baking them, eating them, and especially decorating sugar cookies!

  • 7. sweetandnatural  |  December 11, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    Yay! I’m so glad you tried out my PB oat bars! I think you’re right – the dough was prob. sticky b/c it was mixed too long. The first time I made a crumb topping, I went crazy with the mixing and didn’t know when to stop. Before I knew it, I no longer had crumbs but a big blob of dough!! Oh well, I’m glad they still turned out tasty! 🙂

  • 8. catms916  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    sweetandnatural Thanks for the tip! I’ll have to remember that next time because it definitely made the bottom crust a little too cumbly at the end with all that flour & oats and not enough wet stuff.

  • 9. VeggieGirl  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    SUGAR COOKIES!! PB-OAT BARS!! TACOS!! GUACAMOLE!! BREAKFAST COOKIE!!

    Please come cook & bake for me????? 😀

    Ahhh, I hope the weather clears up so you can go to the party!!

  • 10. Jen  |  December 11, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    My husband would love that bar recipe!!! (it being gluten free) Thanks !! 🙂

  • 11. runjess  |  December 11, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    All of that looks so good!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

