Put a cork in it!

December 10, 2008 at 2:31 pm 16 comments

You know how happiness can somehow be contagious?  Well apparently so can stress.  The woman who works in the cube next to me is a grade-A complainer and seriously her negativity and stress level has been getting to me lately, today especially.  I don’t need to go into what she is all worked up about, but needless to say it is not work related and she should not be having hour-long phone rants!  I have been trying to block it out, but she’s one of those person that mutters under her breathe and sighs loudly so you’ll ask her what’s wrong so it’s a little hard to ignore.  I have honestly had to place my hands flat on my desk and take deep breathes to calm myself because her negativity keeps getting to me and making me feel all tight and wound up.  I need to figure out a way to deal with this…

Ok, enough with the complaining and on to the eats!  I had more leftover Swiss Chard Pie for lunch today along with some of my leftover acorn squash that I roasted Monday night (it was a ginormous squash).  I heated everything up in the microwave for some nice, warm comfort food.  Yes I know… it’s 60 degrees out so it’s not exactly a day that begs for hot food, but inside my office it’s about 50 degrees.  Seriously I have my jacket on…  img_221611

img_22141This was bigger than the photo makes it look by the way…  I also brought another big macintosh apple today, but I don’t really think I need to include yet another picture of an apple… red, green & round – you can picture it right?  😉  I hope the rest of my day goes by smoothly… I have a list of things I need to get done and I want to be in bed before 10:30pm.  Lots of tasks to finish at work, laundry, sugar cookies, chocolate cookies, buy groceries, work on Christmas gifts… I know, I’m boring right?  You know what’s #1 on my list right now though?  Stay calm and deflect the stress & negativity being projected on to me.

Do you guys have any tips for centering yourself while at work?  I obviously can’t close my eyes and meditate because I need to stay on task, I just want to focus my energy on work without getting too worked up… and I want to avoid picking up on other people’s negativity!

p.s. Head over to Zesty Cook’s website for an awesome contest!!

Entry filed under: Lunch, thoughts. Tags: , .

Global warming? Cookie Frenzy

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Tina  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    I was just reading about this same topic this morning! I have a coworker who is such a grouch, and honestly, it gets to me sometimes. I try to “kill her with kindness” as much as possible! Also, I try to think of fun things that I have planned. Like tongiht, Mal and I are going to wrap presents and watch a Christmas movie. It helps me get though a crappy day!

  • 2. Erica  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:47 pm

    Listen to music!! Block her out!

  • 3. Kersten  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I try to turn the negative complainers around by changing the subject to something positive. If they still insist on being negative, I may just have to tell them to buck up, buttercup, and be positive. When I used to work in a cubicle area I would bring my iPod and put in my earbuds to zone people out. I think I even staged a few intentionally loud discussions that hinted at how you can hear everything in the cubes and that I knew way more about my coworkers than I wanted to.

  • 4. VeggieGirl  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:15 pm

    I say, slap her 😉

  • 5. catms916  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Tina I like to “kill her with kindness” too.. because of that she doesnt seem like to complain to me directly (thankfully)

    Erica & Kersten Thanks for the advice, I just popped in an earbud into one of my ears so I can hear if the phone rings, yet it’s conveniently on the side of my head that points toward my crabby co-worker. Nothin like a little Dave Matthews Band to brighten my day.

    Veggie Girl Ahaha you just made me laugh out loud!

  • 6. ksgoodeats  |  December 10, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    HAH – I like VeggieGirl’s idea! Sorry, I don’t know how to deal with a co-worker like that. I’d use my ipod if I could just to tune her out 😦

  • 7. carolinebee  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:43 pm

    UMM i guess chucking a stapler over the cubicle wall is a no-go?? Also, as for the post above me (?) I don’t know “helpful” those tips are…..I think blogging is very therapuetic and I second the others’ ideas! 😀 have a good one.

  • 8. carolinebee  |  December 10, 2008 at 4:44 pm

    sorry i meant- i don’t know how* helpful those tips are…

  • 9. Megan  |  December 10, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    It’s official, I am going to make the Swiss Chard Pie! TONIGHT! I have seen your posts of it (and the posts of it re-heated; i love when i can re-heat stuff that isn’t garbage for the body!). But, I think I will be making it with spinach, seeing as I don’t have any swiss chard. How much spinach would you say is the equivalent of 8 swiss chard leaves or whatever the recipe calls for? I am useless in the conversion department.
    Thanks for the great recipeee!

  • 10. runjess  |  December 10, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    Ugg my officemate talks to herself.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 11. Maggie  |  December 10, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    I say go for the iPod – I always work better when I’m listening to music. Most of my office wears headphones all day.

  • 12. Sagan  |  December 10, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    Ugh, that’s frustrating.

    If you’ve got any REALLY good stories about how frustrating your life is, then by all means take the time to ask her what’s wrong. Once she starts talking, just mention your 100xworse story and maybe that will put it into perspective and get her to shut up:)

    I’m so happy that the blogging community is such a positive place. I like all our optimistic cheerful energy rubbing off on each other!

  • 13. Sharon  |  December 10, 2008 at 11:42 pm

    Oh, I hate when people mutter under their breath constantly, or sigh like its the end of the world. It bothers me that people can be so negative at times. I can completely relate, because I have this one friend that continually is negative all the time. And as a friend, my job is to comfort her, but it kind of gets tiring when every time I hang out with her, I am bummed out because of her negativity.

  • 14. Marci  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:41 am

    People like that are cancer, but I suggest being direct. Counter negative statements with positive, and if it gets really bad, ask her if she is OK, that you are concerned about her “stress” level. Good luck and that swiss chard looks great!

  • 15. Lara  |  December 11, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Thanks for the dream analysis–that is very interesting!
    Stress at work–is it possible to take a quick 2 minutes break? Walk to the bathroom or something and just remove yourself form the stressful situation for a minute or two. That always helps me.

  • 16. catms916  |  December 11, 2008 at 11:41 am

    Megan Maybe 2 cups loosely packed? I use the big leaves, not the baby ones.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

