Global warming?

December 10, 2008 at 12:31 pm 11 comments

Ok I am seriously not understanding this weather recently… spring? winter?  The weather really needs to decide to pick a season and stick with it.  Yesterday was it was 30 degrees on my run and today it was 57 degrees… and then by the time I got to work the outside temp read 61 degrees!  Ummm global warming much??

After an awesome 4.02 mi run through Central Park I came back to find my breakfast already made for me!  Ok, ok I made it the night before, but still cutting out that extra step in the morning is so key for me.  What did I make?  Why a Chocolate Breakfast Cookie a la “The Fitnessista” Gina of course!  Love it girlie!!  😀 Here’s the mix I used:

Chocolate Breakfast Cookie:img_22181

  • 1/2 large banana
  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • splash skim milk (about 2 tsp)
  • less than 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp Chocolate Hemp protein powder

OMG just check out that chocolately goodness!!  It was so hearty and filling… and it seriously tasted like I was having dessert for breakfast.  Don’t be surprised if you see these popping up more and more on my blog.  Not only are they awesome tasting, but the fact that I can make it the night before saves me so much time in the mornings.  Here’s another look at this lovely concoction before I devoured it, as well as a snapshot of the protein powder I used.img_22191img_221711

On my way to work I stopped to grab a skim latte from Starbucks because I just cashed in some of my credit card bonus points for a Starbucks gift card.  Score!!  Nothin’ like a latte to brighten my morning!! 😀

Well guys, work is starting to pile up around me so I must be going.  I hope everyone has a wonderful Hump Day!!  I’m going to leave you with a little quote I keep tacked up in my cube that I think is pretty appropriate for today… I know lots of people go through the week only looking towards Friday to distract themselves from having to work, but I think that with the right attitude work can be pretty enjoyable – especially if you are lucky to work with as great co-workers as I do.  Even if it’s a little thing… seeing some Christmas decorations on the way to work or enjoying a nice lunch with friends, that’s enough to make that day special.  Look for the little things to be happy about and don’t dwell on bad days… you may notice yourself becoming a cheerier person.  “Yesterday is gone.  Tomorrow has not yet come.  We have only today.  Let us begin.” – Mother Teresa

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, Recipes, thoughts. Tags: , , .

Sushi night! Put a cork in it!

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  December 10, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    The breakfast cookie looks great! Gina rocks! The weather is rather crazy!! Great quote 🙂

  • 2. Sagan  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    It’s all about the attitude for sure!

    That cookie looks super tasty. Mmmm cookies.

  • 3. sweetandnatural  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:17 pm

    I love that quote!

    Saw your comment on my blog… I made my peanut butter oat bars for the bf’s family using regular brown sugar b/c that’s all his sister had in her house. They came out great! I’m sure you could use white sugar also. I hope you try the recipe – they’re SO yummy.

  • 4. HangryPants  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:22 pm

    I know! Yesterday it was literally freezing and today it’s warm and humid. Crazy!!!

  • 5. ksgoodeats  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    I’m jealous of your weather! It’s FREEZING here – 22F!

    That breakfast cookie looks delish!

  • 6. ksgoodeats  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    To answer your question from my blog…the only thing I didn’t include was any type of “milk.” My batter was wet enough that I just skipped that but other than that I followed it pretty much as written.

  • 7. VeggieGirl  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:56 pm

    The weather is INSANE around here, for sure!!

    Amaaaaazing breakfast.

    Great quote!!

    Hang in there with the stress, girl!!

  • 8. Sharon  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:23 pm

    Oh wow, that looks so delicious!

  • 9. bobbi  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:44 am

    I AM SO MAKING THIS IN THE MORNING!!!!

  • 10. Caroline  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:53 am

    I LOVE that chocolate hemp protein. I use it all the time, but I never thought to use it in a breakfast cookie–genius!

  • 11. catms916  |  December 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    ksgoodeats Thanks for getting back to me!! 🙂

    Caroline I don’t have a blender in my apt so I usually use it in these or just in regular oatmeal or plain yogurt.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

