Sushi night!

December 9, 2008 at 11:18 pm 11 comments

I can’t believe it’s already 10pm!!  Tonight definitely went by fast… after work I met two lovely ladies for sushi at a place called Choshi on 77 Irving Place (& 19th Street).  It was so good!  I got a yellowtail w/ scallions roll… pretty standard for me I suppose.IMG_2210 IMG_2208

IMG_2209 I also got the Spicy Choshi roll which was a combo of tuna, tempura, red pepper flakes, scallions and cucumber (I think).  The spicy Choshi roll was definitely one I’d recommend.  My only complaint was that it was too big to eat in one bite.  Thankfully Amie and Aly weren’t offended that I used my fingers to break it in half.  πŸ™‚

Aly and I decided to split the Tuna Kinuta, which is essentially a tuna and asparagus roll wrapped in cucumber instead os seaweed and rice.  I’d never had a roll  wrapped in cucumber and this one was definitely the star of the evening for me.IMG_2211 IMG_2212

My official review of Choshi?  Super fresh fish and interesting dinner options.  The place is small, but cosy and the waiters were attentive.  Obviously it’s not on par with Megu or Sushi Seki, but it’s certainly a step above your everyday takeout joint.  My rating: 3.5 stars.  I will definitely come here again!! 

After a really enjoyable dinner I headed back to my apartment to whip up some sugar cookie batter.  I didn’t do the actual baking or rolling out tonight though so I’ll post the recipe when I get ready to bake them.  Ok, it’s past my bedtime now… sadly.  Goodnight lovies!!

Entry filed under: Dinner, Reviews.

December Challenge update Global warming?

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sharon  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    Wow, what a great dinner. Everything looks lovely!
    Oh wow, can’t wait to see the sugar cookies tomorrow. Enjoy your night!

  • 2. Erica  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:26 pm

    mmmm sugar cookies! One of my favorites!

    These pictures are really pretty!

  • 3. gina (fitnessista)  |  December 10, 2008 at 12:24 am

    oh how i love sushi!!
    can’t wait to see these sugar cookies πŸ˜€
    have a wonderful night!

  • 4. TheSkinnyPlate  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:16 am

    Your sushi looks really yummy. I’m drooling.

  • 5. carolinebee  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:22 am

    SOO yummy- i love how eating sushi makes ya look SO super hot haha πŸ˜€

  • 6. Lara  |  December 10, 2008 at 7:41 am

    Wow–sushi wrapped in cucumber, how interesting! I have never even heard of that but it looks just as good!

  • 7. ksgoodeats  |  December 10, 2008 at 9:11 am

    Everything looks great! Glad to hear dinner was good!!

  • 8. VeggieGirl  |  December 10, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Glad you had a nice meal!! Love the presentation of each dish.

    I want to see those sugar cookies!! πŸ˜€

  • 9. catms916  |  December 10, 2008 at 12:29 pm

    Lara I hadn’t had it before either, but it was so fresh tasting! Added the perrrfect crunch.

    Cookie pics and recipe coming tonight guys!! πŸ˜€

  • 10. Sagan  |  December 10, 2008 at 1:06 pm

    I’ve never seen sushi wrapped in cucumber before! I’m going to look for that next time I’m getting sushi.

  • 11. runjess  |  December 10, 2008 at 5:40 pm

    I love sushi! That looks so good.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

