Plenty o’ polenta!

December 8, 2008 at 9:20 pm 13 comments

Sorry for the delayed post guys… I’ve had a pretty packed day today so I figured it’d be easier if I just threw everything into one big post. Breakfast today was nothing fancy, just a Strawberry Chobani and a Apple Cinnamon Luna Sunrise bar. I’m not huge on bars, but these are pretty awesome in terms of taste and nutrients. Not chemically tasting or overly dense…IMG_2191

Lunch was leftover Swiss Chard Pie that I thawed out from the freezer. Just as good the second time around! 🙂 I really think I could eat this stuff every day of the week – it’s so good & good for you!! Spinach/ Swiss Chard, scallions, cottage cheese, feta cheese, dill, eggs, flour, olive oil – definitely a super food to fight back against the germ-filled flu season.IMG_2194 IMG_2195

I also had a huge Macintosh apple – a very Christmasy lunch with all that red & green!! I was pretty busy today, but I managed to sneak in a granola bar before I headed to the day spa for my appointment only to find out that they screwed up and had no record of my appointment! Grrrr… I went so far out of my way for nothing! In order to make lemons out of lemonade I decided to at least get my exercise in for the day and walk home – I estimate it to be about a 2.5 mile walk. Yes, it was cold out, but trust me, I was moving pretty fast so I stayed warm!

When I got home finally I had a few work-related things to take care of, but in the meantime I prepped an acorn squash for dinner and popped it into the oven to roast while I worked. I had my squash seasoned only with a little rosemary and salt alongside some BBQ Baked tempeh & creamy polenta!IMG_2201

I Baked the tempeh at 400 on a piece of foil after coating the top of each slice with some Bullseye BBQ sauce and Liquid Smoke. They baked about 15 minutes while I got to work on my polenta.

Creamy Polenta:IMG_2196

  • 1/4 cup stone ground cornmeal
  • 1.5 cups water
  • 1 tbsp whipped 1% cottage cheese
  • 1/2 tsp Vegan natural buttery spread
  • 1 tsp salt

All you have to do is bring the water to a boil and then slowly pour in the cornmeal while whisking to prevent clumps from forming. Let the mixture cook down over medium low heat and stir vigorously, adding the butter, salt and then finally cottage cheese. Sooo good!! IMG_2197

I enjoyed dinner while watching Jeopardy – food for your body and food for your brain… 😛 Interesting Fact: My mom was once a contestant on Jeopardy and was even a returning champ!! Very cool in my opinion. Well, I’m off to work on some Christmas ornaments that I’m giving as gifts to friends. Do any of you guys like to make gifts for Christmas, or do you find it easier to just buy them? I know it’s more labor-intensive, but I can never think of what to buy, but can always think of things to make!! Can’t believe it’s less than 20 days away now!! 😀

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes, thoughts. Tags: , .

I want my baby back, baby back (ribs) 30 degrees!!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:28 pm

    LOOOOOVE that swiss chard pie, polenta, shiny apple… HOLY YUM!!

    Sooo fabulous about your mom on Jeopardy!!

    **I purchase most gifts, but also BAKE tons too as gifts; and I knit/crochet gifts 🙂

  • 2. carolinebee  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:33 pm

    that is sweeet about your mom! I know the randomest info on there, but probably not enough to win 😀

  • 3. Erica  |  December 8, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    What a good day of eats. Your dinner looks incredibly awesome! That is really annoying about your spa appointment- grrr! Glad you got a nice walk in at least!

    How cool that your mom was on Jeopardy. I like to pretend I know enough to be on Jeopardy haha.

    I like to buy most gifts but I always bring homemade baked goods, candies, and bakes (pasta or otherwise) with me! I think it takes a lot of stress off holiday hosts to bring food!

  • 4. Sagan  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:56 pm

    I love a good mac apple.

    It’s nicer to make gifts, but I’m not very good at making QUALITY stuff, hehe. This year I’m baking cookies, making sugar scrub, and that’ll be the extent of homemade stuff, I think.

    How are you making your ornaments? What are they made of? Do tell! And show us pictures! Please:)

  • 5. sweetandnatural  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    SO cool that your mom was on Jeopardy! And the returning champ to boot!

  • 6. sweetandnatural  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    SO cool that your mom was on Jeopardy! And the returning champ to boot!

  • 7. Erin  |  December 8, 2008 at 11:43 pm

    WHAT A GORGEOUS DINNER! STOP MAKING AMAZING FOOD! I CAN’T KEEP UP WITH YOUR RECIPES!
    I had leftover spin pie today too. 🙂

  • 8. bobbi  |  December 9, 2008 at 1:43 am

    you make that look so EASY!

  • 9. Sharon  |  December 9, 2008 at 2:18 am

    Wow, that is too cool about your mom being on the show! I love watching it!

  • 10. Maggie  |  December 9, 2008 at 4:22 am

    Mmm I love Chobani. Thanks for the polenta recipe!

  • 11. catms916  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Sagan I’ll be able to post pictures of some of the ornaments next week because some of them are gifts that I’m giving this weekend.

  • 12. runjess  |  December 9, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    I’ve never had tempeh, but looks good!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 13. Emily  |  December 10, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    We’re into making gifts this year. Homemade vanilla extract, vanilla sugar, etc!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

