I want my baby back, baby back (ribs)

December 6, 2008 at 9:15 pm 21 comments

I had such a fantastic day today… I met my friend Amie today for a walk through Central Park which was so nice and the perfect way to start my day.  It was a little chilly out, but I got a Starbucks latte to take the chill out.  😉

img_2172When I got back I popped in some gluten-free chicken nuggets into the oven, whipped up some homemade honey-mustard and a spinach & lettuce salad topped with tomatoes, feta & a simple vinaigrette and some Cape Cod potato chips on the side.  img_2171

img_2174I made a little dessert of leftover yams mixed with some cinnamon and banana slices.  I caught up on last week’s Top Chef while I had my lunch… does anyone else watch that show?  I am seriously obsessed and am especially psyched that this season is filmed in NYC!  Those people have some serious talent… I just love watching to see what they’ll come up with.

After a fun day of running around and getting things ready for Christmas I put some pork ribs in the oven that I had been marinating since last night.  I’m not really a big fan of ribs, but the bf is obsessed so I researched a few recipes and decided to come up with my own concoction.  The marinade was a mixture of the following:img_2177

  • Johnny Walker (black label)
  • Pure maple syrup
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt + pepper
  • chili powder
  • cinnamon
  • cumin
  • garlic powder
  • BBQ sauce

Before I put it in the oven I spritzed it with olive oil and added some more of the dried spices.  I slow cooked the meat to ensure that it would be fork tender at 200 F for about 3 hours… maybe a tiny bit longer.img_2176

img_2178The ribs came out a-mazing!  Like I said, they’re not high on my list, but I couldn’t resist having a few of these bad boys.  😉  The bf was very pleased so Ichalked it up to a job well done.img_2180

On the side we had the rest of my Split Pea Soup w/ Carrots form the night before and a salad with a mixture of green leaf lettuce and spinach.  img_2179I topped it off with oil, red wine vinegar, oregano and feta cheese.  Such a good comforting meal for a chilly winter night!!  Not too sure what my plans are yet tonight… maybe they’ll involve a little wine perhaps??? 😀  Enjoy your night everybody!!img_2181

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

Smurfy Oats Plenty o’ polenta!

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 6, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    Fantastic day, indeed!!

    Um, I’m BEYOND OBSESSED with ‘Top Chef’!!!! Love it, love it, LOOOOOVE IT!!! 😀

    Have a wonderful evening!!

  • 2. Sharon  |  December 6, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    Wow, everything looks delicious!! I would love some ribs please!

    I love watching Top Chef! 😀

  • 3. Jen  |  December 6, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    gluten free chicken nuggets! Im intrigued did you buy these or make them? Where can I get them or how can i make them??

  • 4. Sagan  |  December 6, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    LOVE ribs. And split pea soup!! Your yams/cinnamon/banana concoction is intriguing, I really want to try that. How did you cook the yams?

  • 5. carolinebee  |  December 6, 2008 at 11:40 pm

    i LOVE ribs…but i hate gnawing on bones! Yours appear boneless, which i like 😀 How nice of you to appease the bf, have a fun night!

  • 6. Erica  |  December 7, 2008 at 10:00 am

    You made such a beautiful and thoughtful dinner! I bet your bf was super excited! Glad the walk went well despite the cold temps! Have a great Sunday girl!

  • 7. Lindsay  |  December 7, 2008 at 10:19 am

    wow i never would have thought to try ribs at home – its something that intimidates me haha… these look awesome!

  • 8. bobbi  |  December 7, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    what a fun day I wish I lived in NYC I would eat up central park!!! Love the dinner so warm and cozy:)

  • 9. Erin  |  December 7, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    I LOVE TOP CHEF!!!!!

  • 10. Lara  |  December 7, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Wow those chicken nuggets look soooo good. What brand do you use? Or are they homemade?

  • 11. catms916  |  December 8, 2008 at 10:29 am

    Jen I bought them, but you can definitely make them using some eggs/ egg white scrambled with a fork as a binding agent & some gluten-free flour/finely crushed cornflakes / cornmeal. Just dip the raw chicken pieces in the egg, then dip in the flour / cornmeal / corn flakes to coat and pop into the oven until crispy & golden.

    Sagan I just used some yams that the bf had leftover from Thanksgiving. I believe they were skinned and baked in a pan filled with water and brown sugar at 425 until fork tender. I don’t like adding sugar to my yams so these were a little sweet, but it went nicely with the banana.

    carolinebee I totally agree, they get all stuck in your teeth. Some of these were boneless and some others had bones.

    Lindsay The ribs were actually super simple… I love slow cooking food in the oven because you can just pop it in and forget about it basically.

    Lara I can’t remember the brand – the bf got them for me a while back and I thre out the original box they came in. I know Bell & Evans makes gf nuggets though!

  • 12. VeggieGirl  |  December 8, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Your comment on my blog made me smile 🙂 Hope YOUR week is going well too!!

  • 13. beradiant  |  December 8, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    Love the idea of adding bananas to your sweet potato!!

  • 14. PositivelyRadiant  |  December 8, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    Thanks for your post on my blog this morning! You seem like the type of person I would like to have on the treadmill next to me :).

  • 15. caroline f  |  December 8, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    LOVE Top Chef! That marinade sounds killer! I’ll have to give it a go on my Tempeh! 🙂
    -Caroline

  • 16. runjess  |  December 8, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    I watch Top Chef sometimes, but I really like The Next Food Network Star. I hope they come out with a new season soon!
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 17. Tina  |  December 8, 2008 at 5:09 pm

    Split Pea Soup! I just bought some yesterday. I’ve never tried it before. Weird, right? Yours looks great!

  • 18. Tina  |  December 8, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    P.S. We eat a lot of the same foods! 🙂

  • 19. Amanda - RuntoFinish  |  December 8, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    A walk in central park…seriously I sort of thought that only happened in movies. 🙂

    Big fan on Top Chef, I may not be a Chef but I like competition and seeing what they make.

  • 20. Lindsay  |  December 8, 2008 at 8:47 pm

    mmmmmm what an amazing spread!

  • 21. catms916  |  December 9, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Amanda Hah, when you live in NYC you start to crave trees and grass so you find yourself if Central Park alot – or at least I do!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

