Chunky Monkey Oats!

December 4, 2008 at 10:29 am 16 comments

Oh my gosh… the concert last night was seriously amazing!  I wish I brought my camera, but I’m always hesitant to do that at concerts because I don’t want it to get taken away from me.  It was the coolest venue ever though… not too big or small, but there was a huge floor area in front of the stage with a bar in the back and then 2 horseshoe shaped balconies, each with their own bar and VIP area so you wouldn’t have to go down to the first floor to get drinks.  I watched the show from the 3rd floor balcony and was lucky enough to get a prime spot directly looking at the stage with nobody in front of me.  Did I tell you it was amazing?  I had only heard a few of their songs before and heard them referenced on 90210 a bunch of times, so I can’t say I went there being a huge Vampire Weekend fan, but I definitely left as one!! 😀

This morning I thankfully didn’t have a hangover (I had a few drinks), but I had that gross, tired feeling that I get when I go out during the week – which is why I usually don’t.  I felt like the best way to get myself feeling more normal was to hit the gym for a speedy workout.  I did a quick 2 miles on the treadmill on a 3 incline (I swear, running on the treadmill doesn’t feel like normal running to me – so boring!) and then did the “burnout method” of lifting; starting at 15 lb weight and working my way down to 5 lbs while increasing reps for biceps/triceps.  It’s been a while since I lifted so I have a feeling I’m going to feel that tomorrow…

Afterwards I made a favorite breakfast of mine… Banana Oats!!  It’s been so long since I’ve had a hot breakfast and this was so so good!  It really doesn’t take much longer to make than it does a bowl of cereal… I don’t know why I don’t make it more often.  I mean, I live with 2 guys, I don’t think they’re going to care if I leave a pot soaking in the sink while I’m at work – which I may have done this morning  😳 img_21521

I used the regular recipe (with a little extra cinnamon).  Just look at that oaty goodness cooking on the stove…img_21571

I had a heaping spoonful of TJ’s crunchy peanut butter and then I couldn’t resist sprinking on a few Ghiradelli chocolate chips.  I call it “Chunky Money Oats” after the deeelicious Ben & Jerry’s Banana-fudge-walnut ice cream flavor.  Now THAT is how you do breakfast!! 😀 I’m still using the bag of chips Ericasent over for my BSI win – thanks girl!  Speaking of which, have you all checked out Andrea’sblog Bella Eats [and runs] for this week’s BSI??  It’s one of my favorite foods – ginger!  I’m eating a Ginger People ginger chew in her honor right now 🙂  Submit your recipes soon guys!!  I did… 🙂 More on that tonight though…

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, Recipes. Tags: .

Pizza, Pizza! Sickies…. :(

16 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 4, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Sooo glad your night was amazing!!

    And speaking of amazing, that basically sums up your breakfast – HOLY YUM!!

  • 2. Erin  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:28 am

    Get out! I freak over those chews!
    I’m still thinking about swiss chard pie. 😉

  • 3. carolinebee  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:31 am

    I never take my camera to shows either 😦 Such a bummer, but once I had to walk super far back to my car to put it away, SO annoying- it’s a BAND hello why cant u take pictures!? Good b-fast though, and that’s cool you live with guys- how is that??

  • 4. bobbi  |  December 4, 2008 at 11:41 am

    sounds like you had a great time last night!!! Love the bowl of oats, i used to love chunkey monke bj’s but now I try and stay AWAY cause I could eat the whole container! I was going to put choc chips in my oats today but decided to leave it as a Friday treat:) Cant wait to hear about your BSI submission!

  • 5. ksgoodeats  |  December 4, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Glad to hear the concert was a blast! I always put my camera in the little inside pocket of my purse that way they can’t see it 🙂

    Love the chocolate chips on your oats!

  • 6. catms916  |  December 4, 2008 at 12:32 pm

    Veggie Girl Thanks!! 😀

    Erin You must try it… OMG I am so obsessed with them!!

    carolinebee I don’t get it either! It’s actually fun – one of the guys is my older brother because we get along really well. I find myself cleaning alot and then having to sometimes just stop and remember that their messes do not have to me my messes (to an extent).

    bobbi Hah me too, it kind of always makes me sick though because it’s so rich and I don’t exactly practice restraint with ice cream… I prefer Breyers for that reason.

    ksgoodeats I usually do the same, but the venue was a few blocks away from my apartment so I didn’t take a purse and didn’t want to deal with possibly having to walk it back to my place.

  • 7. Erica  |  December 4, 2008 at 2:34 pm

    So glad the chippers have lasted you this long (chocolate chips don’t have much of a shelf life in our house….I wonder who keeps eating them? )

  • 8. 818  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Fitness Blog Now…

    Over the past 15 years […]…

  • 9. Maggie  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    So glad you liked the concert! The oats look soooo creamy 🙂

  • 10. Meghann  |  December 4, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    I love concerts, I haven’t been to one in forever! I was actaully talking to some co-workers yesterday about our first concerts and I accidentally blurted out my first concert was Hanson. What can I say? I was in 8th grade and a pure teeny bopper 🙂

  • 11. Sagan  |  December 4, 2008 at 4:28 pm

    Those look like such yummy oats!!

    I’m far too lazy to make mine in a pot though. I use the microwave (I know, radiation bad. Ah well:)).

    Glad the concert was so good!!

  • 12. runjess  |  December 4, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Haha I don’t like to go out during the week either. I’m such an old lady.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 13. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  December 4, 2008 at 8:27 pm

    Thanks so much for answering my long-winded stevia questions! I’m looking forward to your baking adventures :o)

  • 14. Sharon  |  December 5, 2008 at 12:11 am

    I’m glad you had a great time at the concert. I definitely know what you mean about having stuff taken from you. Especially when you are on the floor and there are mobs of people that push and shove. You can lose anything in that gang!

  • 15. bobbi  |  December 5, 2008 at 6:19 pm

    I made this, this morning:)

  • 16. Amanda  |  December 5, 2008 at 11:14 pm

    can’t wait to see what you come up with for the ginger.

    Hope you are starting to feel better.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

