Oh Christmas tree…

December 3, 2008 at 10:21 am 7 comments

I am finally back into the swing of things today.  I knocked out a 4 mile run this morning while my eyes were literally tearing up from the cold.  34 degrees is definitely a bit colder than I would like it to be when I’m running, but as long as I bundle it’s really not so bad.  The benefit I get in terms of being relaxed and ready to work afterwards is really worth just sucking it up and running.

After my run I rushed to get ready and flew out the door with a baggie full of Honey-Rice Puffins cereal, a blueberry Chobani and a banana from the street vendor.  It’s really been a while since I made myself a hot breakfast – maybe tomorrow that will happen.  img_21421img_21391

On my way to the subway I passed 3 different Christmas tree vendors with all of their trees lined up on the street.  It made me want one so bad!!  I cannot wait to get mine… I’ve even already named him.  😀  He’s going to be called “Vesper” (my sister mandated that he must be named) after a tradition I used to have at my summer camp growing up.  I went to Camp Nellie Huckins in New Hampshire for 5 years, and at night once or twice a week we would have this thing called “Vespers” where everybody would hold hands and walk together to the main lodge singing songs and then some of the counselors and older kids would put on a skit or something for us.  It sounds stupid, but seriously camp was one of my best childhood memories – I actually think the vespers ritual is based loosely on a Catholic evening prayer service.  Which makes sense because Huckins was a YMCA camp, so originally Christian.  Do you guys name your Christmas trees too??

Anyway… When I got to work I literally devoured my breakfast and dove into my ongoing pile of work.  I have a super busy day today; lots of work, meeting with my “little” then a concert with the bf.  I’d better get cracking!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness. Tags: .

Presents!!! :) Fiber-licious!

7 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:35 am

    It’s 32°F here – I beat you, haha 😉 Hang in there with the cold!!

    Hooray for Puffins!! I just found out that the PB and Cinnamon flavors are vegan, gluten-free, AND soy-free (score for me!!), so I’ll be trying them today for the first time!! The PB flavor 🙂

    Good luck with your busy day!!!

  • 2. Erica  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:44 am

    yayyyyyyyyy for feeling back on track 🙂 I want a Christmas tree so bad! We’re getting a mini one…I think we’ll go this weekend. I have never named the tree before but def will now!

  • 3. sweetandnatural  |  December 3, 2008 at 10:49 am

    I don’t name my X-mas tree, but I have a mini one that will be sitting atop my TV as soon as I get a chance to dig it out from under the bed!

  • 4. Lindsey  |  December 3, 2008 at 11:30 am

    Oh my gosh, I just saw what you posted about your tiny jar of McCormick cloves – $11 is absurd!!! I hope you can find a better price elsewhere! (I often find McCormick is a lot more expensive than other brands, too). I think with prices like that I’d be homeless in NY.

    I think you’re right about the Vespers service. I’m a musician and I used to always play for a Christmas Eve vespers service, that had lots of prayers, music, etc…kind of more meditative too. Vesper is a cute name for a tree. 🙂

  • 5. catms916  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:01 pm

    Veggie Girl 32 degrees! I hope you at least get some snow out of that weather 😉 OMG so excited for you to try the PB puffins… they are one of my loves.

    Erica I’m getting a mini tree too!! I cannot wait, and yes, you totally have to name it. Last year my sister’s was named Clarence for the angel in “It’s a Wonderful Life” which I though was such a good name.

    Lindsey Um yeah, there’s a constant struggle between paying rent and cooking dinner for me. Hah, that totally makes sense then! At camp our final Vespers ceremony involved a candle procession down to the lake as a “goodbye” to all our camp friends.

  • 6. bobbi  |  December 3, 2008 at 1:12 pm

    We don’t name our tree but if we did I think it would be ROCKSTAR…no no..how about DIVA..ok I don’t know I ll have to think about that one! GREAT RUN DEAR!

  • 7. Amanda  |  December 3, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    oh how I do love cereal..doesn’t it go with every thing?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



December 2008
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

