A relaxxxing day off

November 26, 2008 at 11:27 am 13 comments

Oh man it’s good to have off from work…  Just being able to press snooze and lay in bed without worrying about being late for work is so awesome on a Wednesday.  I even let the little guy climb into bed with me for a little bit after my alarm went off… something I never do.  Not to sound mean, I just have a rule that if the lights are off in my room no kitties are allowed in my bed.  This way I don’t get any surprise guest waking me up with their purring.  😉 

I finally pulled myself out of bed and went for an awesome 4.33 mi run through the park.  I was shocked by how many people were out an about!  I guess I’m just used to running much earlier when alot of people are sleeping.

When I got back I made the most fantastic bowl of oats!  I used my normal recipe for Banana Oatymeal with the following changes…IMG_2047

Pumpkin-Spiced Oats:

  • 1/3 c. oats, milk, water
  • 1/3 c. pumpkin puree
  • 1 small banana, finely sliced
  • 1 tsp fiber added Stevia (NuNaturals)
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • a few drops Cocoa extract (NuNaturals)
  • a dash salt
  • a dash nutmeg

Pretty much all you have to do is throw all the ingredients in a saucepan and whip everything together over medium low heat until it’s the perfect consistency.  I of course had to have 2 spoonfuls of ZAP peanut butter to go along with it… and a big cup of tea with milk.IMG_2049

Awww look at my little blogger buddy…

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, Recipes.

A Blue & Gold victory!! Back on Monday!

13 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 26, 2008 at 11:58 am

    Amazing oats & cute cat/”blogger buddy” 😀

    ENJOY YOUR DAY OFF!!! You deserve it!!

  • 2. catms916  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:00 pm

    Veggie Girl Thanks!! Enjoy your day & holiday as well!!

  • 3. Sharon  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:06 pm

    AWH too cute!!!! Enjoy your day!

  • 4. Erica  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:23 pm

    Kittie is sooooooo cute! So jealous of your day off 😉 Have a good one!

  • 5. bobbi  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    it is nice to have off, we have been so busy here that I have not gotten to lay in bed, I guess SATURDAY will be that day:) Aww your kitty is so cute, I miss Bosco!

  • 6. Caitlin  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:25 pm

    Sounds like such a nice morning. Enjoy your day off:)

  • 7. Sagan  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    Cute kitty!

    Oatmeal and tea are such a great way to start the day.

  • 8. ksgoodeats  |  November 26, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Cute kitty! I’m the same way with my dog – she can’t sleep with me, although last night she managed to sneak in…..

    Have a great day off!

  • 9. Heather @ Hangry Pants  |  November 26, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Snooze is the best button! Enjoy your day off. 😀

    Heather

  • 10. seeleelive  |  November 27, 2008 at 9:02 am

    what a yummy yummy bowl of oats!!!! Congrats on your fun day off girl, make it to CT safely!

  • 11. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  November 27, 2008 at 11:56 am

    Pumpkin oatmeal– yay!

    I see you use a lot of stevia (haha as your title would suggest). Have you ever baked with it, like muffins or cake? I’m really intrigued by the stuff, but except for putting it in smoothies, protein shakes, crepe cakes, and pumpkin pie mousse, I’ve never really used it in baking. Does it work well? Do you sub it evenly for sugar if you use the NuNatural brand (that one seems to be sweeter than sweetleaf… is it just my imagination?) And is the NuNatural brand the best one? Sorry for so many questions!

  • 12. glidingcalm  |  November 28, 2008 at 3:05 pm

    your blogging buddy is adorableeeeee! 🙂

  • 13. Erin  |  November 29, 2008 at 12:43 am

    I love your gorgeous kitty!
    Yay for sleeping in!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

