A Blue & Gold victory!!

November 25, 2008 at 11:16 pm 10 comments

Oh man, I didn’t think I was ever going to leave my desk today!! From the minute I got in this morning I was busy. I barely even had time for lunch between a pre-call meeting and then a conference call at 1:30pm which ended up getting pushed back, Craziness.

I finally got home around 6:40 and was racking my brain about what to make since I’m going home tomorrow and just wanted to use what I already had on hand. I ended up settling on the other half of my potato to make another batch of Paprika Fries (not to self, cut potatoes do not keep in the fridge well). They nevertheless turned out great, just not as crispy as yesterday.IMG_2043

Oh man.. I devoured those babies with a mix of Tabasco and Ketchup stirred together.IMG_2044

To go along with my fries I wanted another thick winter soup, but really wanted to save the leftover Split Pea Soup w/ Carrots that I had sitting in the freezer. I like saving leftovers in the freezer to have at a later date because it’s such a time saver and mixes things up so I’m not stuck eating the same thing multiple days in a row.

I ended up coming up with an original soup concoction that I call Moroccan Pumpkin Soup. Ok, it isn’t really Moroccan, but the spices seemed very similar to some Moroccan dishes that I have made. Here’s the recipe (although I tend to just throw dashes of things in so this isn’t 100% exact. IMG_2041

Moroccan Pumpkin Soup:

  • 1 c. canned pumpkin puree
  • 1 c. water
  • 1/4 medium onion, finely diced
  • 1 celery stalk, finely diced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced fresh ginger
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • salt + pepper to taste

SautΓ© the onion in the olive oil over medium low heat until soft, then add the celery and continue to cook. Add the water, pumpkin and spices and cook until all the flavors have melded and the onion and celery are extra tender. Adjust seasonings as needed. I will without a doubt be making this again soon!! I topped off my meal with a Gluten-Free Walnut Blondie a la Veggie Girl that I had in the freezer. πŸ˜‰ IMG_2045

After dinner I watched a very tense Notre Dame vs. Texas bball game while IMG_2046 enjoying a huge bowl of stove-top popcorn. Such a close, tense game!! Notre Dame squeaked by 81 – 80!!! Seriously, I came close to having a heart attack as did the bro. I also enjoyed a glass or two of Cabernet to keep the stress levels from the close game to a minimum. Had to finish it before I went home!! Plus, I don’t have work tomorrow!! I’m looking forward to a relaxing day of running, cooking with my sister, and then a cocktail party at my brother-in-law’s parents apartment. Yay for holidays!!! πŸ˜†

Entry filed under: Dinner, Recipes. Tags: .

TGI…T? A relaxxxing day off

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erin  |  November 26, 2008 at 12:00 am

    Those fries look perfect to me, wow!
    Yay ND!

  • 2. Sharon  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:04 am

    Ahem, I want those fries. Please send me a batch! Haha! I’m going to try to replicate what you made once I get some potatoes!

  • 3. bobbi  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:07 am

    I love those fries, I think I have said that before:) I too enjoyed a nice glass of red tonight, I love VACATION!

  • 4. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 26, 2008 at 1:39 am

    wine is the perfect way to end a night πŸ˜€
    that soup looks incredible- thanks for posting the recipe!
    hope you have a wonderful night!

  • 5. Maggie  |  November 26, 2008 at 3:44 am

    Moroccan pumpkin soup sounds delicious. I LOVE pumpkin. So much. Yum.

    The blondie looks great too πŸ™‚

  • 6. Erica  |  November 26, 2008 at 8:11 am

    safe travels! I have some leftover tatoes so I may give these fries a try tonight! I had a dinner planned but I want to use our leftover fresh stuff!!

  • 7. dinesh1201  |  November 26, 2008 at 8:49 am

    loved the post. Yummmi πŸ™‚
    Best regards.
    http://bigbracket.wordpress.com

  • 8. VeggieGirl  |  November 26, 2008 at 8:55 am

    Paprika fries??? Yes, please!! And HELL YES for the blondies – you made me smile πŸ™‚

    Have a safe trip and a fun Thanksgiving, girl!!!!!!!

  • 9. Amanda - RuntoFinish  |  November 26, 2008 at 9:43 am

    wow yummy on all fronts!! Are you at 45 miles for the week..or is that your total POTM? Boy I’m hoping that’s your total!

  • 10. catms916  |  November 26, 2008 at 11:59 am

    Sharon Do try!! Fries are one of my favorite things… but thankfully when you make them yourself you can control the oil and portion size.

    Amanda 45 miles for the month starting November 8th… I’m not that crazy!!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

