We go together like Peas & Carrots…

November 24, 2008 at 10:07 pm 9 comments

Today was a ridiculously busy day, so apologies for the late post!  When I got up this morning I was so sore I could barely move.  Yesterday I decided to use Jenna from Eat, Live Run‘s “burnout method” for lifting.  I started at 10 reps with 15 lb. weights and went down to 25 reps with 7.5 lbs. for triceps and biceps.  Oh good lord…

I decided to make some Banana Oats with a tbsp of raisins mixed in and 1/3 cup cottage cheese stirred in at the end.  I also added a tsp fiber added Stevia for some extra sweetness.  I really like the Fiber-added blend because it has a good flavor and doesn’t give me stomach problems the way alot of extra fiber products do.IMG_2029

Lunch was pretty boring, just a Cali burger, a salad, an Oikos and some gluten-free Ginger Snaps that one of my co-workers was sweet enough to give me.  I seriously love the people I work with…   😀

For dinner I reeeally didn’t want to spend any $$ on groceries since I have a cocktail party Wed night and am going home afterwards so I did a little brainstorming and came up with two childhood favorites – Split-Pea Soup w/ Carrots & Paprika Fries.  My mom used to make these amazing fries when I was little that I just had to replicate.  IMG_2032

Paprika Fries:

  • 1/2 Russet potato, cut into sticks
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • pinch cayenne
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Meanwhile, toss the potatoes with the olive oil and spices.  When the oven is heated, spread out the fries on some tinfoil or a cookie pan and bake 15-20 minutes depending on thickness of potatoes.IMG_2033

The split pea soup was pretty simple – I just adapted a recipe by Mark Bittman. It was deliciously thick and flavorful despite the lack of added fats or ham like most recipes.IMG_2031

Split Pea Soup w/ Carrots:

  • 1/3 c. dried split peas
  • 1 c. beef broth
  • 1.5 c. water
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 small onion, minced
  • 1 tbsp minced carrots

Put the split peas, broth, water, salt, pepper and onions in a pot and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat to low and cover; cook 45 min – 1 hour, until the peas are very soft.  Meanwhile cook the carrots in the microwave in a little water in a microwave for about 4 minutes.  When the peas are nice and soft use an immersion blender and puree the soup, leaving some chunks.  Stir in the cooked carrots and enjoy!IMG_2034 IMG_2035

While catching up on my Grey’s Anatomy I enjoyed a nice glass of the Crosby Cabernet I had open along with a bowl of popcorn the bro was nice enough to make for me.  Perfect!!  Hopefully this soreness goes away tomorrow so I can go for a run before work.  So psyched my boss gave me off on Wednesday, it’s like tomorrow is Friday all over again!!  😀

Entry filed under: Dinner, Products, Recipes.

Pizza & Prep Work Superior Scribbler!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. sweetandnatural  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:19 pm

    Baked fries are one of my favorites!

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:20 pm

    No worries about a late post!! Glad to see you posting when you can 🙂

    LOVE THE OOOOOOATS!!!

    Have a fun t.v.-watching night!!

    Score for no work on Wednesday!!

  • 3. Erica  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    Wow I have never had split pea soup but that looks so yummy! I love peas so I’m sure I’d be a big fan of this soup! I have to put it on my “to try” list! 2 days until thanksgiving!

  • 4. carolinebee  |  November 24, 2008 at 10:28 pm

    Fries and soup is SUCH a good combo!! I had fries w/oysters on my recent NY trip, and my friend told me to dip the fries in the the oyster soup, i think it’s a dutch tradition?! Anyways, good call.

  • 5. Megan  |  November 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

    Hey! I just found your blog and I’m glad that I did- love it! The paprika fries look great 🙂
    Can’t wait to read more!

  • 6. Sharon  |  November 24, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    Wow, those fries came out so crispy! Nice!

  • 7. sagan  |  November 25, 2008 at 12:18 am

    I adore split pea soup. And those fries look so good! Will have to use paprika next time I’m making them.

  • 8. ksgoodeats  |  November 25, 2008 at 10:08 am

    WOW – those fries look great! Thanks for the recipe!!

  • 9. catms916  |  November 25, 2008 at 10:24 am

    Erica If you like peas, definitely try this soup! I know a lot of split peas soups involve ham, but it has so much flavor just on it’s own! I only used beef broth because I had some leftover, but you can use chicken broth, veggie broth or water in its place.

    Megan Thanks and welcome!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

