Spice it up!

November 20, 2008 at 9:57 pm 12 comments

Tonight the bf and I decided we were both in the mood for takeout so we order from one of our favorite restaurants – Spice!  How better to warm up on a cold night than with some ultra spice-y Pad Thai?? 😀  I was pretty psyched to try out the Lemongrass Tom Yum soup because one of my friends is always raving about it…img_1960hmm maybe I just ordered it from the wrong place because I was not impressed.  Sorry Spice!!

img_1962There were unbelievably huge chunks of tofu, onions and mushrooms – nothing delicate about it!  I don’t know if maybe I should’ve just ordered the chicken version, but then again I just felt like there was something lacking in flavor.  Too tomatoey with a subtle spice, but not enough underlying flavor for my likes.img_1959

I was however very pleased with my Vegetable Pad Thai!  I got spicy chili sauce on the side because I’m pretty obsessed with spices (hah).  The Vegetable Pad Thai comes with egg, a little bit of baked tofu, peanut, bok choy, scallion, julienned carrots and bean sprouts mixed into traditional Thai rice noodles.  Excellent!  One of my favorite places for Pad Thai although you can be sure that I will do more investigating… 😉  img_1964

The bf ordered the 6 O’Clock Train Spicy Fried Rice with chicken and was quite pleased.  I had a small taste and was really intrigued by the basil flavor that permeated the whole dish.  A really pleasant new twist on fried rice!

Spice also gives you tons of food so you will have plenty left over for the next day.  When I’m ordering takeout I like to get a big portion so that it can carry over the next day or two.  I mean c’mon part of the reason you get takeout is for the convenience factor so of course you want extra!  I give Spice 3 out of 5 stars because it is very good for takeout, but is still just that – takeout.  It’s a little greasy, not too complex flavor-wise and I was really disappointed with the soup, but for a staple like Pad Thai it doesn’t disappoint.  Try it out for yourself: Spice on 2nd Ave between East 73rd and 74th Street.

Entry filed under: Dinner, Reviews. Tags: .

Change of plans Oh what a beautiful morning!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:01 pm

    Too bad about the soup 😦 But hooray for the Pad Thai dish saving the night!! 🙂

  • 2. sweetandnatural  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:08 pm

    I’m up in that area a lot and I don’t think I’ve ever noticed Spice!

  • 3. Maggie  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    Tom yum soup is usually so good! Veggie pad thai sounds really yummy though.

  • 4. ksgoodeats  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:53 pm

    That pad thai looks fabulous!

  • 5. gina (fitnessista)  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:54 pm

    everything looks incredible! i want a spice near me :/
    have a great night!

  • 6. Erica  |  November 20, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Sorry the soup wasn’t too good- at least the pad thai made up for it! Hope you have a lovely Friday!

  • 7. Sharon  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:54 am

    glad the pad thai worked out. sorry to hear about the soup! tofu is good good though!

  • 8. catms916  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    sweetandnatural It’s easy to miss because it’s sort of tucked away, but definitely worth visiting. I believe they also have a location in the East Villiage.

    Sharon I normally love tofu, but they were in hug chunks and just didn’t work in the soup in my opinion.

  • 9. bobbi  |  November 21, 2008 at 1:44 pm

    Hey CATH!!! nO WORRIES I have only gotten 22 miles!!! lol…there is a second place runner up though and maybe even a third!!! KEEP PILING!!!

  • 10. runjess  |  November 21, 2008 at 3:46 pm

    Those are definitely big chunks of tofu.
    I’m giving you an award! See my blog for details.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 11. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  November 21, 2008 at 8:55 pm

    Thai = best cuisine ever!

    I actually buy the fondant at Michael’s craft store (in the cake-decorating aisle). It comes in colors, so don’t even need to use food coloring ;o). Easy peasy!

  • 12. bobbi  |  November 22, 2008 at 3:32 am

    PILE ON THE MILES SNEAK PEEK AND UPDATE http://nhershoes.blogspot.com/2008/11/potm-update-bsi-submission.html

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

