Lunch Re-runs

November 20, 2008 at 10:12 am 4 comments

Sorry to dissapoint with the un-exciting lunch today – it was kind of a repeat of Monday.  The other half of my acorn squash filled with applesauce and cinnamon.  I just really like the portability of these for work.  They fit perfectly in a square tupperwear, can be filled with a variety of fillings, and help make sure I get a good dose of veggies in without having to make a salad (I prefer hot food over cold foods in the winter).img_1941img_1942

I also had a baggie of PB Bumpers cereal, which I ate along with a handful of peanuts and pistachios. img_1943 I love getting nuts still in their shells so I have to crack them open myself… it makes eating them kind of a game. 🙂  I also had the tiniest most adorable clementine.  For some reason though, my lunch filled me up, but really didn’t satisfy me.  What’s up with that??  I have been craving salty popcorn all morning like it’s my job.  I guess we all know what I will be snacking on later tonight… 😉

Over lunch I caught up on all my blog reading and saw, much to my delight that Lindsay of For the Love of Oats chose Pumpkins as this week’s BSI!!!  Seeing as how I love all things pumpkin or squash, I am pretty psyched about this.  I can’t wait to get my creative juices flowing this week and come up with an original recipe this weekend.  I use squash and pumpkin almost daily, but I want to come up with something extra special for the BSI contest.

Right before I left I got hungry again so I had one of these guys… I think I’m obsessed with them.img_1955img_1954

Stir-Fried Goodness!

I got off from work reeeally not wanting to cook, or do anything at all for that matter.  But I wasn’t super hungry and it was still early so I figured I had some time to kill.  What better way to get out of a funk than go for a quick run.  I had to go to the ATM, so instead I decided to go one that was 1 mi away so that I could get the blood flowing.  When I came back I felt totally refreshed.  I got my laundry, showered, picked up some fresh veggies to add to some tofu, chicken and beef I had marinating, and got to work on my stir-fry!img_1946

I’m pretty sure stir-fry is my favorite go-to meal in a pinch.  As long as you have rice pre-made, everything – from the cutting to the cooking lasts about 20 minutes.  How much easier can you get?img_1947

I made a nice little plate of fried rice to go along with it with some eggs, peas & carrots to bulk it up.  Here’s how to make some excellent Fried Rice (no, this is not authentic).

Fried Rice:

  • 2 cups cooked brown rice
  • 1 tbsp grapeseed oil (or any other mild tasting oil)
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 1/2 c. frozen peas & carrots (thawed)
  • 1 c. bean sprouts (optional) – the thick white kind in Asian stores
  • splash Tamari or Soy Sauce

Simply throw the oil into a pan over high and add the egg, scrambling quickly.  Next add the peas & carrots and sramble a bit and then dump in the rice.  Toss everything together and continue to cook over high heat without stirring in order to crisp up the rice a little bit.  Toss the rice to evenly crisp every few mintues. When You reach the desired level of crispiness, mix in the bean sprouts and add a splash or two of Tamari and cook until the beans are heated through and serve!

The stir-fry consisted of: bell peppers, steamed green beans & waterchestnuts, tossed in some red chili paste, tamari sauce (regular soy can be used), sesame seeds, and fresh, minced ginger.  Yum!!img_1948

I was kinda wiped after dinner so I watched some history channel and was in bed by 10pm… Niiiice.  😀

Entry filed under: Dinner, Lunch, Recipes. Tags: , .

Cookies for breakfast?? Baby it’s cold outside!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ksgoodeats  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Love the Nature Valley bars! Your dinner looks oh so good as well 🙂

  • 2. Sharon  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:41 am

    Wow, I am definitely going to try making a stir-fry!

  • 3. Sagan  |  November 20, 2008 at 11:51 am

    Okay, I also love the hot veggies over cold in this kind of weather, and definitely want to be eating LOTS of acorn squash. But I’ve only ever had it once and don’t know much about the different food combinations that are good with it. Recipe suggestions?? 🙂

  • 4. catms916  |  November 20, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    Sagan I think your best bet is checking Epicurious.com and Recipezaar.com in addition to the many food blogs out there for fun squash recipes. I like the taste of squash plain with just a little salt or honey, but you can also puree it and use it as a soup base, or a pumpkin substitute in oatmeal and pancakes. I’ve posted two such recipes on my blog that were pretty yummy if you ask me! See my “Edibles” section for recipes.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

