Change of plans

November 20, 2008 at 3:47 pm 2 comments

Well I made the effort to make my lunch last night, but at the last minute my boss decided to order everybody lunch for our 1pm meeting.  Sweetness!!  There was a huuuge Cosisignature salad that contained mixed greens, dried cranberries, pistachios, grapes and crumbled Gorgonzola cheese.  I’m not a huge fan of Gorgonzola cheese, but it gave a nice flavor to the salad so it didn’t even need dressing (although I avoided the big chunks of cheese).  There was also an assortment of sammies, so I snagged a pesto-chickenone and dumped the chicken over-top my massive salad since I’m mildly allergic to wheat.  I can eat it on occasion, but it makes me feel a little icky the next day and tends to make me break out a little.  😳 

The meeting was actually really good because there’s been lots of tension lately in regards to the financial markets with businesses failing, companies cutting costs and consequently people losing jobs right and left.  Our meeting eased my worries alot although I guess the future is never 100% certain.  All I can really do is work hard and hope that it pays off and that I am one of the lucky ones whose job isn’t going anywhere.  It’s really scary though how many people are out of work these days… I’m sure all of you know at least a few people who have been affected.  Unfortunately as I work in private equity insurance and know people at Lehman, AIG, etc. I know alot more than a few… 😦  

Wow, didn’t mean to turn this into such a negative post – especially when I’m actually quite optimistic about things.  I can only hope that 2009 brings more financial security and our economy rebounds.  What do you guys think about the state of our economy – are you optimistic, pessimistic or are you just trying not to think about it?

Entry filed under: Lunch, thoughts.

Baby it’s cold outside! Spice it up!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  November 20, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    Glad you had a nice lunch! I am hopeful that the economy will turn around. I think we all need to do our part (I know- easier said than done) and go out and live our lives as we did before (stop saving and saving and saving- its only hurting the economy!!) I will keep you in my thoughts and hope that things turn around and your company has no issues!

  • 2. ksgoodeats  |  November 20, 2008 at 8:33 pm

    Love Cosi!!

    In regards to the economy…I know where you’re coming from. Since I live near Detroit the majority of the people I know work for the auto industry in one way or another, that’s not an exaggeration. Basically everyone is sitting around waiting to get laid off. It’s such a big part of our economy that the thought of something happening to the auto industry is terrifying! Luckily my family has been alright but who knows how long it’ll last. I’m just hoping that everything works out in the end.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

