Baby it’s cold outside!

November 20, 2008 at 10:34 am 11 comments

I woke up this morning totally refreshed.  I really don’t know how people function without getting a good night’s sleep.  I used to be one of those people in college that were convinced I only needed 4 or 5 hours of sleep… but then I actually started getting my full 7-8 hours and could never go back.  I think people just don’t realize what a difference it can make; more energy, no circles under you eyes, clearer skin, clearer mind…

Since I was feeling so peppy I decided to go for a run in the park.  Knocked out another 3.5 miles in 28 minutes.  🙂  Yay me!  That brings my total mileage for the Pile on the Miles Challenge set up by Bobbi at In Her Shoes to: 31.69 miles   😀    img_1958Whenimg_1920 I got back I had the rest of my Banana Oatymealthat I had prepared earlier in the week along with a spoonful of my homemade peanut butter (which is sadly running very low!!).  There is seriously nothing better than a warm breakfast on a cold morning.  Oh yah, the CNN building told me it was 30 degrees today.  Eeek!  I also brought this little guy filled with cottage cheese for an extra snacky at my desk.  🙂  

Well lovies I’ve got work to do so I’ll see you back her at lunch.  Before that though I want to leave you with a question… Do you find that it’s easier to work out in the morning or the evening?  I can never seem to kick myself into gear once the work day is over even with the best of intentions.  Plus, morning workouts seems to energize me more during the day.  Weird huh?

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, thoughts.

Lunch Re-runs Change of plans

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Erica  |  November 20, 2008 at 10:53 am

    The morning oatmeal looks so great! I bet it was just perfect after the run! Good job on the mileage! I like to mix my workouts, some morning, some evening!

  • 2. sweetandnatural  |  November 20, 2008 at 11:21 am

    I’m usually an after work work-out girl, but it’s always risky for me b/c I never know when I’m going to get out of the office! Could be 5:30, could be 11:30, so I don’t always get to make it to the gym. I really should just start to go in the mornings on a regular basis, but I like my bed!

  • 3. Sagan  |  November 20, 2008 at 11:48 am

    Morning for the same reasons you’ve stated. And also because that way I can be all happy that I did my workout and any other exercise is just a bonus!

    Also LOVE that song. Holly Cole version especially.

  • 4. bobbi  |  November 20, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    great run! I have a little peek of one of the things that will be in the goody bag on my blog today:) I love to run in the mornings, and can do classes at the gym anytime, because there is someone there to kick my butt! I can’t believe you ran in that weather, PROPS to you girl!

  • 5. carolinebee  |  November 20, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    hey! I just started a blog, I know you recently did too and it’s so awesome! I’m adding you to my blogroll if u don’t mind! i’m definetely a morning worker-outer, after that my couch just looks too good 😀

  • 6. VeggieGirl  |  November 20, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    I work out all day (with yoga, personal-training sessions, and dance), but I prefer mornings 🙂

  • 7. catms916  |  November 20, 2008 at 3:11 pm

    sweetandnatural I have the same problem with not knowing when I’m going to be able to escape from work which is why I started the morning workouts a few months ago. Strangely it has made me more alert and productive during the day!

    Sagan Me too!

    Bobbi I just checked it out – VERY cool! I’ve never seen a hat with pockets for running gel & gu!

    carolinebee Thanks for adding me!

  • 8. Maggie  |  November 20, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    I like working out in the morning – otherwise I won’t do it!

    Loved your dinner post last night.

  • 9. runjess  |  November 20, 2008 at 5:26 pm

    I love working out in the morning, but find that going to the gym after work is sometimes a great way to unwind.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 10. seeleelive  |  November 20, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Will you be eating thanksgiving in Darien? If you are, we will be in the same town…I think that’s cool. Dayum girl, I didn’t know you were allergic to wheat!!
    Love the banana-y oats. I prefer working out in the afternoon.

  • 11. catms916  |  November 21, 2008 at 12:10 pm

    seeleelive I will be in Darien for Thanksgiving actually – so cool you’ll be there too! I’m really excited to go home because the next day is my 5 year reunion for high school so all my friends will be in town so I’ll get to catch up with all my West Coast & Chicago living chicas!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

