Super Late recap!!

November 18, 2008 at 10:19 am 6 comments

Sorry for the uber delayed post!!  Today was just way too busy to get any blogging done – oh well.  So before I talk about today first I have some weekend recapping to do.

Sunday was a pretty low-key day, but definitely a day of snacking so I wasn’t able to get picks of everything.  Oh well, so it goes…  I started out with a bowl of PB bumpers and an apple.  Of course cereal without milk and all the fixins totally sucks at quenching your hunger.  I had some peanut butter and 2 small clementines which helped a little, but in hindsight I wished I had just made some oats!img_1896img_1903

I tried to go outside for a walk, but it was just a weee bit too cold out.  I was able to pick up my book for my upcoming book club – Post American World by Fareed Zackaria.  I didn’t get a chance to start reading it until Monday morning, but so far so good!

Lunch was kinda eaten in bits and pieces, I had some chips and salsa while watching a marathon of Tim Gunn’s Guide to Style mid-morning.  img_1902img_1868Later on I had some dried veggie chips, img_18711apple slices sprinkled with cinnamon, img_18731a veggie burger img_1898and a freshly baked Mocha-Almond Chip Cookie!!  Oh I didn’t mention that I baked??  The only thing I would change about this recipe is that I would use instant coffee instead of the Teeccino (I didn’t like the chicory flavor it gave off, and I would use dark chocolate or semi-sweet chocolate chips).  Other than that they got pretty good reviews.  They were certainly consumed, yet I was a little dissapointed.  I’m definitely going to play along with this recipe.

Mocha-Almond Chip Cookies:img_1878

  • 2/3 c. sugar
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 1/3 c. grapeseed oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 c. gluten-free all purpose baking flour
  • 1 tbsp spelt flour
  • 1 tbsp Mocha No-Caf (by Teeccino)
  • 2/3 c. Ghiradella choco chips
  • 1/3 c. chopped almonds (I used salted)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together the sugar, honey and oil; beat in egg.  Add vanilla and blend.
  3. Add dry ingredients in order, mixing after each.
  4. Refrigerate dough 30+ minutes to firm up.
  5. Roll heaping tbsp into balls, then flatten to 1/3 of an inch and place on cookie sheet.
  6. Bake about 10 minutes.
  7. Let stand about 5 minutes to cool.
  8. Makes about 20 cookies.

**This recipe was adapted from Ashley of Sweet & Natural’s “Espresso Almond Chocolate Chip Cookies”img_18761

Later in the evening I wasn’t feeling so up to snuff so I had a really simple dinner. img_1912 Some broiled salmon rubbed with olive oil, rosemary, salt and pepper; alongside a great salad of green leaf lettuce and steamed broccoli.  I topped the salad with a homemade honey-dijon dressing.  img_1910I made the dressing using Grey Poupon dijon mustard, a drop of honey, extra-virgin olive oil, red wine vinegar, oregano, garlic powder, salt and pepper.  So yumm!!img_1914

I didn’t make a grain for dinner so I had to make some popcorn on the stove later. 🙂

img_1913Plus a few carob & yogurt covered raisins… 😉

Back to the grind

Monday morning again… I was feeling really lazy this morning so I decided to skip the gym and running altogether.  Instead I made some plain oats with no banana and salt instead of cinnamon & vanilla.  I’m a huge fan of salt so this was really yummy to me… I ate it along with a heaping spoonful of Peanut butter.  Oops, almost forgot to take a picture! 😳 img_1916

Mid-morning I was starving so I grabbed an apple and 1/2 of a Luna Sunrise bar to hold me over.  No pic of these guys, but they definitely did the trick.  Lunch was sooo yummy, but simple.  Just 1/2 a roasted acorn squash filled with applesauce, cinnamon and honey and a super big banana from my stash.  Yum!img_1905

Later in the afternoon I snacked on a Honey Graham Z-Bar given to be by Erica from Itzy’s Kitchen.  So good!!  Thanks so much Erica! 😀 I also had a small handfull of peanuts.  Sorry guys, no pics of any of this because I was at work…

On the ride home I started my new book Post American World and let me just say I am loving it!!!  It’s a really good look at the state of our world’s economy – ok I haven’t gotten that far, but so far that’s what I’ve gotten from it… 😉

I had a ton of errands to run tonight and was hoping to make some chicken breasts I had gotten last week, but they had gone bad.  Gross!! 😡   I ended up ordering in sushi… oh well…  I got it from my favorite place – Matsu on 70th St between 1st and York.  It might look like a hole in the wall, but you cannot beat their super fresh fish!!  I got some pretty standard rolls – yellowtail w/ scallions and a salmon-avocado roll.  img_1923img_1924img_1926Simple, yet delicious.  I also got a mixed green salad with some of their delicious carrot-ginger dressing.  img_1927Gossip Girl + Wine + Sushi… Can you say awesome?? 😀 Oh yah… plus a rice cake to keep up my strength while blogging… img_1928

So this week I’m going to try just posting once a day to see if it makes things a little easier.  I’m not saying this is how it’s going to be – this is just to test things out so not to worry!!  Things have just started to get kinda busy with work and trying to think of my Christmas plans, etc.  Have you guys given the holidays much thought yet?  Do you already have gifts in mind?  If you do I must say I am jealous… 😉

NOTE:  I tried posting this last night, but it didn’t go through apparently… sorry!!!

Entry filed under: breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Products, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Weekend Recap to come… Healthy body, healthy mind

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sagan  |  November 18, 2008 at 11:36 am

    Your cookies and salmon and squash and sushi all look fantastic, yummy!

    Haven’t given the holidays too much thought- but I think it’ll be homemade goodies (baking/cooking/sugar scrubs) all around for the most part:) I’m all about the consumables.

  • 2. catms916  |  November 18, 2008 at 12:01 pm

    Sagan Me too actually – I was thinking of doing baskets tailored to each person with lots of homemade goodies inside. I feel like it’s so much nicer than just getting someone a DVD, giftcard or something like that. Even if it is waaay more effort!

  • 3. Erica  |  November 18, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    mmmm your cooookies look good! I love Tim Gunns guide to style- he cracks me up! I miss project runway already! I have purchased a few gifts but am totally stuck on a few people=ugh!

  • 4. ksgoodeats  |  November 18, 2008 at 2:11 pm

    The cookies look great! Hooray for the z-bar!!

  • 5. runjess  |  November 18, 2008 at 6:29 pm

    Gossip Girl + wine + sushi sounds like heaven. My DVR is getting hopelessly backed up.
    http://www.seejessrun.wordpress.com

  • 6. dried almonds recipe | Digg hot tags  |  November 19, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    […] Vote Super Late recap!! […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

