Healthy body, healthy mind

November 18, 2008 at 1:38 pm 10 comments

I tried to stay away… I really did, but I was drawn into the lure of the blogging world.  Hehe it appears one post a day simply won’t cut it for me.  I was sitting at my desk this morning and overhead some women near me talking about getting shots to protect them against “flu season” and it made me start thinking about our tendencies as Americans to want a “quick fix” for everything.

Now I’m liable to ruffle some feathers in saying this, but I don’t see a need for a flu shot in order to prevent illness over the winter season.  Honestly, I’ve seen so many people get sick from the shot itself and then still end up catching something  later on in the season.  It seems like people want to ignore the glaring truth that if you just take care of yourself in the first place, you’ll have no need for a flu shot; no matter how many sick people you come in contact with!  I eat whole, unprocessed foods (mostly although I’m not perfect), drink lots of water & herbal tea, exercise and get 7-8 hours of sleep a night and guess what – I am rarely sick.  …and when I am sick, it’s really just a little more than the sniffles.  No body aches, high fevers, etc.  I know everybody’s bodies are very different, but seriously unless you have a specific condition where your immune system is weaker than normal, you should not be getting colds, fevers, etc all winter.  I know a few such people and I can tell you that they most certainly do not eat well and take care of themselves.

I’m not writing this to rub it in your face that I don’t get sick, I actually just want to help you guys stay healthy!  I just think that people really need to focus more time and energy on making sure their bodies are getting all the sleep, nutrients, exercise and love they need.  Yup, I said love.  One of the most crucial steps (in my opinion) of staying healthy and happy is having a positive mind frame.  If you wake up every morning and think about what an awful day it’s going to be, how boring work will be, how tired you are going to feel, then guess what – you will have a pretty awful day.  On the flip-side, if you start your day with a positive mantra like “today will be a wonderful day”, reaffirming it to yourself throughout the day, and reminding yourself (if anything goes wrong) of the good things in your life that you are blessed with; I guarantee your day will go better.  Trust me, I used to let myself get stressed from school, work, relationships, etc. and as a result I spent alot more time feeling ill and run-down.  With positive thinking paired along with a healthy lifestyle you are bound to experience a higher quality of life.

Of course, people simply don’t want to hear this.  They want energy pills and coffee to keep them going instead of making sleep and exercise a priority (which will both undoubtably boost your energy levels).  A healthy diet?  No thanks, most people would rather put their bodies through hell instead – going through diet & fasting cycles, subsisting on foods that is packed with chemicals instead of food straight from the earth.  And worst of all, most people accept stress as a normal part of their life.  They seem to think that working long hours or having stressful situations in work & life mean that they have to feel  that stress internally.  That isn’t the case though – there is a difference between facing and dealing with stresses and actually allowing it to consume you and affect your mindset.

Try this out:  Wake up and tell yourself that you will have a great day and smile when you do.  Everytime you see yourself in the mirror during the day say something positive to yourself.  If you catch yourself thinking a negative thought – ew a pimple, I look fat, I look tired – cut off that thought and replace it with something positive about yourself.  Have a hearty breakfast to start off your day and eat well throughout the day.  That means fruits, vegetables, whole grains (like whole-wheat breads or brown rice), healthy fats (like Olive oil), and protein (nuts, beans or meat – not synthetic protein bars) and see how you feel at the end of the day.  You can have indulgences like chocolate, etc, but look for dark chocolate, natural ice cream, wine and do so in moderation.  Just see how you feel at the end of the day.  Finding a better, healthier you takes time, it is not a quick fix, but if you stick to it, you will find yourself having more energy, getting sick less often, and things will seem to click more in your life.  There’s truth to the old adage “You’ll catch more bees with honey than with vinegar”.  Live your life full of love – love for yourself and for others.

Ok… I’ll get off my soap box now.  🙂  

Flurries!!

Yup, that’s right, you hear me… flurries!  When I was walking to work this morning there were legitimate snow flurries!  I pretty much skipped and hummed the rest of the way there.  I. Love. Snow.  Can you tell?  I’m partly so excited because I just booked my vacation to go snowboarding the week after Christmas, but also I just love the white stuff.  Thanksgiving, Christmas, New Years… I love the holidays and the only way they can get better is if they’re accompanied with a nice blanket of snow.

I got up this morning to total darkness outside.  Ok, I’m being dramatic, but it’s crazy how much shorter the days are seeming lately.  I dragged my butt outta bed and into my under armour and set off to the park for my morning run – darkness or no darkness.  I brought my cell phone of course even though there are tons of people out when I run just because I’m a girl and you can never be too safe.  Knocked out another 3.5 miles to add to my Pile On the Miles tally!  Yesss!  As I was heading back I saw the CNN building read 35 degrees.  Eeek!  That is mighty cold!img_1922

When I got back I heated up some Banana Oatymeal that I had prepared the night before in the interest of saving time.  I used unsweetened vanilla flavored almond milk this morning which was soo good and creamy!  Definitely a great addition.  And of course a generous spoonful of Peanut Butter.  I almost forgot to take a picture it tasted so good!   😳   img_1918

I packed my lunch today and it was definitely a good one for the cold wintery day.  A large baked potato with some butter, salt & pepper along with sweet peas and a cup of cottage cheese.  I used a large baby food jar cleaned out to hold the cottage cheese. 

img_1920I seriously love those things for packing lunches.  The tiny ones are good for honey or peanut butter, and the bigger ones are good for yogurt, cottage cheese, hummus or tuna slad so that your sandwich doesn’t get soggy.  Try it out!  …and remember, think good thoughts today!  😀

Entry filed under: breakfast, Fitness, Lunch, thoughts, Tips & Ideas. Tags: .

Super Late recap!! Rice ‘n Chicken

10 Comments Add your own

  • 1. VeggieGirl  |  November 18, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    AMEN!!!

    So sorry I missed your morning post – super busy!!!!

  • 2. Maggie  |  November 18, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I COMPLETELY agree with your views on flu shots, etc… And the terrible thing is that people who get flu shots all the time and take antibiotics for every sniffle and disinfect everything are only making it worse! They’re breeding super germs and it sucks. And I’ve heard that a lot of the problems with allergies that our society has been having could be related to those things too. If people would just take care of themselves, we would all be so much better off!!!

    Thanks for the post! Eats look great, as usual 🙂

  • 3. ksgoodeats  |  November 18, 2008 at 2:10 pm

    This is such a great post!! I wish everyone would just follow the “everything in moderation” mind set – they would be so much happier.

    Back to the food blogging part – I love your lunch 😀 Have a great day!

  • 4. catms916  |  November 18, 2008 at 2:26 pm

    Veggie Girl Seriously girl, no need to apologize – you are like a super-commenter! Hope your days goes well and gets less busy. 🙂

    Maggie I could not agree with you more!! One of the main reasons we get sick when we go to foreign places is because we live in such a bubble here that our bodies aren’t used to fighting anything. I know the whole purpose of the flu shot is to get your body to produce the antibodies needed to protect yourself against the flu, but I don’t know why people don’t just let nature take its course and do it naturally instead of injecting yourself with an illness and then downing a pharmacy at the first sign of a stuffy nose.

    ksgoodeats Thanks, you too!!

  • 5. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  November 18, 2008 at 3:32 pm

    Yay for taking care of the body you were given! It’s a gift!

    Thanks for asking about WF Boy. I did go get coffee with him… and we’re going out to dinner tomorrow night! I wish I could post pics on my blog, but LOL I’d feel very awkward asking a guy I’ve only met twice to pose for photos so I could write about him on my blog ;o). Maybe someday…

  • 6. Erin  |  November 18, 2008 at 5:25 pm

    I completely loved your soapbox rank! 🙂 I didn’t find it preachy at all, just providing information – and that’s a good thing.

  • 7. Wholesome Foodie  |  November 19, 2008 at 1:11 am

    Bah, I wish I didn’t have to get a flu shot…but my life from about middle school was characterized by bronchitis, pneumonia, the flu, more pneumonia, more flu, etc.

    Eating healthy has helped me get sick LESS often, but my immune system is so effed up from the repeating illnesses and eating disorder that I really need that flu shot, lol.
    Any suggestions on not getting sick? I feel like I am getting sick now…I’m drinking lots of tea and water and fresh juices

  • 8. catms916  |  November 19, 2008 at 10:08 am

    chocolatecoveredvegan Yay, I assume that meant the coffee date went well 😉 Haha yeah, he might get slightly startled by that – “let’s skip meeting my parents, can I broadcast you to the world?” Hope dinner goes well!!

    wholesomefoodie This is going to sound odd, but when you start to feel like you’re coming down with something try focusing your thoughts on being well. Convince yourself you are not sick. Then do everything you can to stay that way – if you’re not vegetarian, chicken soup is actually proven to shorten the length of colds… especially if you add ginger and garlic (poach them in the broth). If you don’t eat meat, try miso soup – seaweed is definitely a superfood, and additionally fresh garlic and ginger are fabulous for your immune system… and definitely make sure you get a full 8 hrs sleep too!! I’m happy you are doing what you can to undo the damage eating disorders and unhealthy living may have done to you! 🙂

  • […] more from the original source: Healthy body, healthy mind « Stevia ‘n Spice… Author: admin Time: Tuesday, November 18th, 2008 at 11:56 am Category: Uncategorized […]

  • 10. Gloria  |  November 21, 2008 at 11:11 am

    I TOTALLY agree with the positive attitude. Think healthy and you will be healthy. Think happy and you will be happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

