Les Halles

November 14, 2008 at 3:10 pm 9 comments

I had a fantastic lunch with one of my co-workers today!  We met one of his friends at a little French brasserie somewhat close to our office called Les Halles located on 15 John Street in the Financial District.  A-mazing.  I’ve been there once before and has the Salad Nicoise which was so good, and had a good amount of their fries, 🙂  but today I decided to try something new.  16276

They had a special menu for the month of November highlighting their wild game, so I decided to be adventurous and try the Wood-Roasted Pigeon served alongside a salad of radicchio, watercress, sliced apple, endive, pecans and cranberries.  Seriously, imagine the most tender filet mignon you’ve ever had melded with the juiciness of roast duck.  Bottomline – try pigeon.  My socks were completely knocked off!  It’s not as greasy as duck, but still has some of that richness… yum oh yum oh yum.

I was left with that really satisfied feeling that accompanies a fabulously prepared meal.  Not stuffed, but 100% satiated.  The pigeon was not huge as you could imagine, but it is rather fatty and is served au jus so the richness of the dish makes up for what may seem to be lacking in size.  😉  Honestly people, try some wild game next time you can… you may be as pleasantly surprised.

Entry filed under: Lunch, Reviews.

Into the Woods! It’s the weekend!!

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sagan  |  November 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Sounds delicious! I’m hoping I get the opportunity to try some wild game sometime soon…

  • 2. VeggieGirl  |  November 14, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    STUNNING restaurant, and fabulous meal!!

  • 3. catms916  |  November 14, 2008 at 3:43 pm

    Sagan Do try!! It sounds scarier than it tastes… 😉

    Veggie Girl It was pretty cool inside… and packed!!

  • 4. Sharon  |  November 14, 2008 at 5:55 pm

    Glad to hear you had a great time! Sounds amazing! And looks beautiful!

  • 5. chocolatecoveredvegan  |  November 14, 2008 at 6:08 pm

    My Whole Foods carries agar flakes in the Asian section (by the seaweed, soba noodles, shelf-stable tofu, etc.). It’s in a little blue and red bag, and it’s made by Eden Foods.

  • 6. bobbi  |  November 15, 2008 at 3:39 am

    Wild Game hugh?Well I am up for it!!! Fun resteraunt!

  • 7. MizFit  |  November 15, 2008 at 7:40 am

    delurking to say HUH.

    Im not sure I could eat it and yet Ive eaten so many OTHER WEIRDODDUNUSUAL things in my travels!

  • 8. ttfn300  |  November 15, 2008 at 1:32 pm

    ok, now you’ve gone and got my hungry!!! 🙂

    ps- about you’re panna cotta question… I’ve only made it twice (both on my site, the first time was with a low fat buttermilk), so I haven’t experimented too much with different ratios. I’m sure it’s flexible, and i intend to try some new ones out, so i’ll post how they turn out!!

  • 9. catms916  |  November 17, 2008 at 9:51 am

    chocolatecoveredvegan Thanks, I’ll definitely look for agar next time I’m there!

    MizFit Thanks for delurking! 🙂 Once you get past thinking what it is, it actually tastes pretty awesome.

    ttfn300 Thanks, I’ll be checking to see how they come out!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



November 2008
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

